Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodrow Wilson Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2013

I go to this school and the main problem is the bullying. they say their gonna make it a bully free school but their not making any progress! ive seen other students get pushed into lockers, teased, harrased, And there's a LOT of fights and people even play 7 minutes in heaven in the bathroom!


Posted April 29, 2013

This school is terrible. Everyone in my family and my friends hated it there. Rampant bullying and uninspiring teachers make up the vast majority of my experiences there.


Posted March 26, 2012

i am at student at this school and the major problem they have there is bullying. The worst part anbout it is that many kids have gone there and complained and they dont do anything about it. we have had many kids leave from this school because of it . take it from me DO NOT INROLL YOUR KIDS IN THIS SCHOOL since they day i got here i have wanted to get out. I HATE IT HERE


Posted March 9, 2011

I have been disappointed with WWMS. I have two sons, one who graduated last year and one who is a current student . I am very disappointed with the lack of leadership from the administration and the lack of communication with parents about school policy changes and information. The teachers are overwhelmed by the number of students in each class and the lack of support from the principal. While many teachers are well intentioned and good educators, there are others who need to retire or resign because they do not have the best interest of the kids at heart. 7th and 8th grade is a different transition time for young people and without strong leadership, structure and encouragement, too many young people become lost and disenfranchised. Overall, the school is failing in their primary job to educate our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

Hello , my daughter is a student at your school and she is one of three children that I have attending school in town. My oldest is a senior at Mercy High. In light of recent weather and storms etc...the children have missed a number of days of school. Why do they not get called upon to communicate with their teachers and fellow classmates on line? My oldest daugter is not behind in her studies because she continues to get her assignments daily through email and online notices....Our children are so computer savy these days....we really should take advantage of this and consider all the technology as a blessing...use it more wisely....dont take away their winter or spring breaks...or make them go to school int the end of june......continue to teach them and make them accountable for their studies even during a storm....within reason, Sincerely Beth Wojtusik
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

There is a total lack of communication at Woodrow Wilson middle school. My child did not recieve a flyer about an open house for the after school program until several days after the open house was over. If you attempt to contact teachers via email you can expect to wait at least 3 days for a response! Outrageous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I feel that in any environment you have to go directly to the source in order to get things done. Go there, introduce yourself. I have a good relationship with the teachers, Secretary and Nurse. I also wrote an email to the Principal last year voicing some concerns and got a response the same day. This is an overall great school. Parents today need to be more involved in their children's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

The administration is lacking in addressing the parents concerns. When bringing a concern to the administration, I was talked to rudely, brushed off, and my concerns were not followed up on. I had to contact the assistant superintendent to get my concerns addressed. I was not talked to rudely then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

The complete and total lack of concern for the wellbeing of the students in this school was so frightening I took my kids out and homeschooled them until we could find a better alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

Absolutely awful school. Too many students and the administrators don't care about their individual needs. You leave phone messages to inquire about your concerns, but are never returned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female83%
Male74%
Black62%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Reading

All Students80%
Female88%
Male73%
Black67%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students85%
Female92%
Male79%
Black79%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Black62%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male78%
Black64%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students67%
Female69%
Male66%
Black45%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%

Writing

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black78%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 61%
Black 23% 13%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Wilderman's Way
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 347-8594

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Sebastian School
Middletown, CT


St Mary School
Middletown, CT



St John School
Middletown, CT


Roadside Academy
Middletown, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT