Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Middletown, CT
Students enrolled: 1,275
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Middletown High School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a student
this school is bad. there are a lot of fights and drama. the teachers are young and don't really have experience. They try so hard on no tolerance they punish the wrong people sometimes. Its hard to learn and im not geting the help i need. The only thing good about this school is the sports. You have people running around egging things on and peer pressure. i wouldnt have went to this school if i knew this before. you wont know unless you have went to this school and went through things, so parents dont have the full affect. - 2013

Middletown High School 5

Posted September 05, 2007
- a student
This is the best school that I have ever been to highly recomend this school


Middletown High School 4

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
School is making significant strides. It is a good school, but one with greater potential. Its grads go to good colleges and its strength is is advanced level courses and extra-curricular programs. Lots of teachers give a lot of extra time to kids. Sometimes kids get nailed by silly rules, but that's a curse of schools everywhere. Great diversity in the school. As tolerant a place as schools go for gay/lesbian kids, too.

Middletown High School 2

Posted January 10, 2005
- a parent
My son is a bright capable young man who loved school. Friendly and popular, he is one kid who should have graduated. He has an extreme case of sleep apnea, and missed days or would be late on occasion, but was a good student regardless. He repeated grades twice because of credit withdrawal despite the fact that he was doing well in school. Middletown Adult Ed is packed because of Middletown High's credit withdrawal. I come from a family of educators and no one can believe how easily they throw away good students.

Middletown High School 4

Posted January 02, 2005
- a parent
As a student of MHS, I would have to say that I think it is a wonderful school. The amount of things that a student can do, from chosing their classes, to extracurricular activities; it's phenomenal. I feel that the people who usually do speak about this school have no idea what actually goes on in it, because they're parents. So attention parents: Just because your only child may not like MHS, does not mean it is a bad school. Did you ever think that your child's complaints could be false allegations and spoken just because they were angry? I believe parents should look into their problems more thoroughly, rather than complaining on a website for everyone to see, because if you did look into MHS, all you would see is success. Our students and faculty (including security guards, so please don't say we're not safe) are of the highest quality.


Middletown High School 4

Posted November 20, 2004
- a student
No, im not a parent. I was a student until about last week. It seems to me that those who write on here haven't really been involved in the school. Yes, we had our problems but the teachers are truely amazing (for the most part) and i really am going to miss them. I think every child has options at this school. If you are smart, take the upper level classes. If you lack the knowledge, well go to the lower classes. They honestly want every kid to learn and work at their full potential. I think people should look beyond the problems because every school has them. I also think that because it is a very diverse school people look at it differently. Hey, i love the diversity. You see differnet sides of the spectrum on a daily basis. I will miss being there so much. ~AT class of 2006!

Middletown High School 5

Posted November 09, 2004
- a student
This school isn't as bad as people say it is. Everyone in the school knows someone who knows someone and everyone knows everyone even if you don't know them personally you know them through friends. The best part about the school is that most of the teachers are closer to the students age, and it helps because then the student and teacher are able to talk on a closer level and the teacher is able to relate to how the student feels, and what they are going through. The best class to take for anyone interested is the Vo-Ag course. It is entirly a hands on class, although there are notes that are taken but it also has contests to participate in and there is the state and national conference every year that some of the students that participate in the class attend. Take it from a student who goes there.

Middletown High School 2

Posted August 24, 2004
- a parent
Two words: horrible school. I wouldn't reccomend this school to anyone who has a desire to succeed later in life. The teachers are not only young and inexperienced- they lack the nurturing and friendly qualities that make the classroom atmosphere enjoyable. Middletown High sure seems to have a knack for hiring inadequate, dull teachers. I moved here from a safe and involved neighborhood and I became sick with the lack of discipline and crappy lessons the students are forced to. From the vice-principle's windows being vandalized to the petty hallway fights that occur frequently, one can easily recognize the lack of quality and safety in this school (if you can call it that). If you want your children wasting away their potentials here, please don't let me stop you, but if you truly want a refreshing change, move! Your child is the future and sacrifices and compromises should be made.


Middletown High School 4

Posted August 02, 2004
- a parent
As with all schools, I believe high school is what you make it. I don't think Middletown High is a bad school, it certainly has it's fair share of problems but they are certainly open to suggestions and feedback. Unfortunately in some instances, it's the students' word against the teacher/administrator and in my opinion, the student isn't always allowed to defend their position. I would also like to see more intervention with students who are struggling. I would like to see a progam in all schools that help the child find their learning style and understand their strengths and weaknesses so that high school is a positive learning experience.

Middletown High School 3

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
they have a discipline problem

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Middletown High School
200 LaRosa lane, Middletown, CT  06457
(860) 704-4500
Last modified Middletown High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Middletown High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top