Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Middletown High School 4

Posted March 28, 2016
- a student
Middletown High is in a diverse town, so the students all come from different backgrounds. This is different from a lot of schools where everyone is a clone of everyone else and allows students to experience different viewpoints..

Middletown High School 4

Posted March 28, 2016
- a community member
Middletown High offers a wide variety of rigorous courses to challenge it's most advanced students. I have had the opportunity to complete 7 AP classes and UConn Calculus while at Middletown High


Middletown High School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a student
One of the best parts of Middletown High School are the resources provided for the students to succeed such as the career center, guidance, tutoring after school, sports study halls, google classroom, and power school to review grades instantly.

Middletown High School 4

Posted March 28, 2016
- a student
As a Vo-Ag student, I've been given the opportunity to combine my general academics with my interests in greenhouse work. All of my teachers have been helpful and supportive throughout the years.

Middletown High School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a student
this school is bad. there are a lot of fights and drama. the teachers are young and don't really have experience. They try so hard on no tolerance they punish the wrong people sometimes. Its hard to learn and im not geting the help i need. The only thing good about this school is the sports. You have people running around egging things on and peer pressure. i wouldnt have went to this school if i knew this before. you wont know unless you have went to this school and went through things, so parents dont have the full affect. - 2013


Middletown High School 5

Posted September 05, 2007
- a student
This is the best school that I have ever been to highly recomend this school

Middletown High School 4

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
School is making significant strides. It is a good school, but one with greater potential. Its grads go to good colleges and its strength is is advanced level courses and extra-curricular programs. Lots of teachers give a lot of extra time to kids. Sometimes kids get nailed by silly rules, but that's a curse of schools everywhere. Great diversity in the school. As tolerant a place as schools go for gay/lesbian kids, too.

Middletown High School 2

Posted January 10, 2005
- a parent
My son is a bright capable young man who loved school. Friendly and popular, he is one kid who should have graduated. He has an extreme case of sleep apnea, and missed days or would be late on occasion, but was a good student regardless. He repeated grades twice because of credit withdrawal despite the fact that he was doing well in school. Middletown Adult Ed is packed because of Middletown High's credit withdrawal. I come from a family of educators and no one can believe how easily they throw away good students.


Middletown High School 4

Posted January 02, 2005
- a parent
As a student of MHS, I would have to say that I think it is a wonderful school. The amount of things that a student can do, from chosing their classes, to extracurricular activities; it's phenomenal. I feel that the people who usually do speak about this school have no idea what actually goes on in it, because they're parents. So attention parents: Just because your only child may not like MHS, does not mean it is a bad school. Did you ever think that your child's complaints could be false allegations and spoken just because they were angry? I believe parents should look into their problems more thoroughly, rather than complaining on a website for everyone to see, because if you did look into MHS, all you would see is success. Our students and faculty (including security guards, so please don't say we're not safe) are of the highest quality.

Middletown High School 4

Posted November 20, 2004
- a student
No, im not a parent. I was a student until about last week. It seems to me that those who write on here haven't really been involved in the school. Yes, we had our problems but the teachers are truely amazing (for the most part) and i really am going to miss them. I think every child has options at this school. If you are smart, take the upper level classes. If you lack the knowledge, well go to the lower classes. They honestly want every kid to learn and work at their full potential. I think people should look beyond the problems because every school has them. I also think that because it is a very diverse school people look at it differently. Hey, i love the diversity. You see differnet sides of the spectrum on a daily basis. I will miss being there so much. ~AT class of 2006!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Middletown High School
200 LaRosa lane, Middletown, CT  06457
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (860) 704-4500
Last modified Middletown High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top