Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Milford, CT
Students enrolled: 607
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harborside Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
We are just so happy with this school. The teachers are great; the curriculum is challenging, and there is a wealth of extracurricular activities. My son is in sixth grade and by January he's had the chance to be in a play, learn algebra and play in a holiday concert. He's really thriving.

Harborside Middle School 3

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
I do not understand the need for teachers to give assignments during vacations. Adds up to no vacation. A vacation is a vacation and may allow one's brain to take a break from structured learning and apply what was learned more freely, allow for natural instinctive response to our world, and frees one to allow for creative exploration. I do not understand how Milford schools function not allowing children to go outside daily.The fresh air is a human need. Stimulates senses. Revives and reminds us of our natural environment.I also do not understand why reading time is taking place at school.Teaching should be taking place.More effective if reading is completed outside and during school hours there are discussions about what was read.Literacy circles. enrichment can be for all.It allows experiential learning and most likely all students benefit and grow from this.Not sure why it is limited.I question how students are placed.Clearly not authentic and misses the boat. Teaching should be creative enough where different levels are orchestrated in the classroom making room for all differences and celebrating.This gives everyone a boost. Outdoor break during all weather conditions please.


Harborside Middle School 5

Posted September 14, 2008
- a parent
We love this school! Our teachers are top notch and dedicated; the curriculum is very challenging and truly up to date---I am so proud to have a child who is able to take Algebra I in 8th grade and I commend the Milford Board of Ed for challenging the students at all of our schools and giving them the opportunities to be in advanced classes as High School Freshmen. We could not be more satisfied with our choice to send our kids to public school here in town and would recommend these schools to all families.

Harborside Middle School 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harborside Middle School 5

Posted September 02, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Harborside Middle School 5

Posted July 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harborside Middle School 5

Posted July 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harborside Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
Excellent learning environment for my daughter---she loves it! TG


Harborside Middle School 5

Posted July 09, 2007
- a parent
With so many school choices in this area it might be confusing to pick the right fit for your family and for your child. We are so fortunate that the choice we made for our kids has turned out so well. We are so happy with the Milford Public School System and feel that our children are receiving a very high quality education while learning to be part of the real world and learning to get along with children from backgrounds and learning styles much different from their own. Our children have learned to be respectful and caring---the morals we teach at home are reinforced by our teachers and staff at school. We love Harborside but feel that all the schools in Milford offer an excellent learning environment for children whose parents choose to send them to publc school.

Harborside Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school with an excellent music department, exceptional art and humanities teams and such an excellent,dedicated and highly educated faculty. The curriculum is very challenging and global and we could not be happier with the opportunities to be involved as parents. We feel very secure with the atmosphere and the zero tolerance procedures regarding disruptive students and feel there are systems is place to keep our children safe. We are so satisfied and proud to be parents at Harborside Middle School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harborside Middle School
175 High St, Milford, CT  06460
(203) 783-3523
Last modified Harborside Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harborside Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top