Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jonathan Law High School

Public | 9-12 | 998 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

I think there is a perception that JLHS is not a great school for learning, I strongly disagree. The teachers of all of my son's classes are very professional, committed and concerned about teaching and having all of their student's succeed. The school administration shares that culture, especially the Principal with his regular phone call updates to parents, you always know what is going on at the school. Your child will succeed if they apply themselves, they have all of the support and resources they need at JLHS to do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I believe that these teachers at J Law care and I they have gone the xtra me with my daughter to help her when her motivation is not there becouse she get very discouraged when she dose not get good grades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The teachers want to teach the subject, the kids want to learn the subjects, but the principal dictates the teachers to teach the kids to pass the state & fed tests. The principal mandates the guidance office personnel to shame or convince the kids to take AP classes. The school system is all about AP classes. My child dam near cried when explaining to me the experience when selecting classes for the next year. The counselor would not accept my child saying no to AP classes. The principal s goals are selfish and for self-promoting reasons. His goals are based on the number of kids in AP classes and the number of AP classes as a total. Regardless of the very low AP scores in the school and the level of stress that is put on the kids. My older kids, in college, benefited zero from their AP classes, were not accepted and had to take an introduction class in those subjects. Let the kids experience and live high school, then graduate and then live college. -- Regarding the parents involvement, the parents want to be involved but the principal highly discourages this participation. The teachers are told no parents to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Well ... this school has changed a lot since I graduated from JLHS in 1966 ... all I can say that it was FUN to go to school here .. I now realize that the teachers and coaches that I thought I appreciated in HS .. actually were HORRIBLE ... but this was an evaluation made AFTER playing Division 1 sports, and getting a Master's Degree.


Posted January 30, 2013

I have had a positive experience with this school. Most of my senior class went unto higher education. We have a strong support system of teachers who are willing to help us with anything. The new principal has been striving for excellence and is one of the best things that has happened to Law. Law fully prepared me for higher education. I am happy I chose Law over private schools in my area. Half the students from private schools in the area go to the same schools as students from Law. AP courses are becoming stronger and athletics are good. Main problem is talent is divided between two high schools. Many athletes had former teammates that went to the cross town high school. I do not regret going to Law and despite others opinions about this school Law is a good place to get a secondary education
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2012

i attended "jlaw" and it was a great skool for the most part staff really cared bout most things but several staff couldnt care less i moved out of state in 08 and never got to graduate from jlaw i wish i could have i thank the staff that helped me for those tht remember frosty thank you for everything becuase of jlaw i wouldnt be where i am today


Posted June 9, 2011

I have moved both my Kids from this school, the academics are weak. There are other serious behavioral issues that have not been addressed. If you are moving to the area, and you would choose where to live depending on the school system, Milford is not where you want to be. We have elected to pay full tuition in a district that is ranked much higher even though we are paying the absorbent taxed in this district. I must say Elementary and Secondary schools were fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I think that this school is great. Everyone is soo carring!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

I am a student and the teachers are very weak, unfortunatelly...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

I have two children that have attended Law & I have found that if the teachers have to give any extra attention to certain situations for any reasons, expect to be disappointed. I can say that I see parent involvement being little to none. The school itself is not very helpful to parents from the Principal to the office, nurse, attendance, teachers, coaches, you name it. The school's policies on many aspects are not very condusive in regards to making things easier for the students or parents. Making that extra effort or taking that extra step is not something you will experience at Law. Some of the sports available are very political, not confidence builders or team supporters and for the most part comprised of cliques.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

The teachers that we experienced were for the most part uncaring and condescending to the students. I don't see where they showed much respect for the kids so the kids don't show respect for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

I am currentley a student at this school, the new principal is a lot better than the one we used to have. Some teachers are good, but most cant handle the difficult students and that brings the whole class down. the school is very divided very sports oriented,music program run by good teacher but not enought money or support,there is a form of a pta-plfg- but it is not active and doesnt accomplish much;school is a disappointment, needs a lot of work. Other hand some teacher do get tru to students and teach them things such as mr. D. Scire(us history) and mr. Marino(band) if you want your child to learn make sure they have those teachers or might as well not even attend school-it would be useless
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2005

I suppose that for good students the school is good, but for students with issues the school drops the ball and its all it the parents court. I wish the teacher were more aggressive with the student with problem. Call, e-mail stay on top of your students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

I have found a very caring staff. When you have that many children in one area there tends to be trouble, the administration, security and teachers monitor the activity and put an end to it. I feel very comfortable sending my daughter there. The courses and activities keep the kids entertained and help them grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

There is a very active parent group involved in sport activities. There is a group of parents that are actively involved in marching band and their competitions. There is also a very active parent group that oversees general high school business such as proms, oversea studies, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

261 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

263 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

261 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female58%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%

Reading

All Students50%
Female59%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%

Science

All Students55%
Female59%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%

Writing

All Students58%
Female73%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 62%
Hispanic 7% 19%
Black 6% 13%
Asian 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Lansdale Ave
Milford, CT 06460
Phone: (203) 783-3574

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Phoenix School
Stratford, CT


Strive
Stratford, CT


Milford Academy
Milford, CT


Stratford High School
Stratford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT