Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meadowside School

Public | 3-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Meadowside has been a great school, thanks to a winning combination of caring teachers and an awesome principal. Unfortunately, Principal Davis recently left Meadowside, to lead a Bethany school. The school start is just a few weeks away, and they have not yet found a replacement, although they spent the summer looking for one. What the new principal will be like remains to be seen. To those saying that the curriculum is dry, please understand that the schools are having "Common Core" shoved down their throats and all of the teachers are afraid of losing their jobs if the children do not perform like trained monkeys on the new tests. Common Core is untested curriculum and it profits no one but Bill Gates and his cronies, who are making billions annually on this fiasco. Since when does a technology geek get the right to decide what every child in this country must learn? And to go so far as to make professional teachers fear for their careers if the children do not live up to these dry, dumbed-down standards...beyond ridiculous. Hopefully this will quickly pass, like the "New Math" did in the 70's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I agree that the way the curriculum is presented is not very creative. Students return home with piles of dittoes. The experience lacks meaning and I would prefer more creative inquiry. My child comments on the lack of friendliness with the adults. The teaching style tends to isolate the opportunity allowing children to learn from children. I would like more of an environment with positive reinforcement rather than displaying the children in front of others when an incident occurs while often minor. A third grade teacher announced to her classroom that SHE thinks it is babyish that they bring toys to school (to use during recess). I would like to see more developmental understanding of what children need to be healthy participants in our world. Learning to appreciate and accept differences by allowing the classroom to open up to the personality differences may be another way. School is very teacher centered. I also feel that discipline seems to interfere with personality preferences therefore discriminating. In the classroom I noticed the larger percentage of students were dependent with thinking skills and had difficulty solving basic problems where solutions would never be wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

This is a great school. They have skilled, dedicated and talented teachers like Miss Jaggers and such a wonderful principal who has a gift for being very kind but very firm at the same time. My son really Loves to go to school and he has developed a reading skill level of 24, where 10 is the expected skill level for a 1st grade child. I am really thankful to Meadowside school and the teachers for all their help, co-operation and guidance provided to us
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

My child just started school and it has been a great experience for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

It's really a Great school with talented teachers like Miss Sanders and Mrs. Federicks. I got transferred from India to US and was really worried about studies of my Son Varun Gupta, there were so many questions, worries coming in our mind about US education and how my son will adjust here but after meeting teachers, principal at Meadowside and seeing the atmosphere of Meadowside school, all my worries were gone. My son really Loves to go to school everyday, I am seeing lot of change in his attitude and behaviour. He is not only learning regular course but also he gets learning on other aspects of life like how to care for others, how to respect seniors, parents etc. I am really thankful to Meadowside school and the teachers for all their help, co-operation and guidance provided to us. Manish Gupta Varsha Gupta
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

What a great school! We have such dedicated and talented teachers and such a wonderful principal who has a gift for being very kind but very firm at the same time. The chldren respect him and follow his direction to the letter! The children at this school learn to be very respectful, caring young citizens, who are not only challenged in the classroom, but who are also challenged by the staff to treat each other kindly and to respect themselves and their peers as well as adults. The buddy system is a great learning tool for all grades and it is so nice to see the different age levels working together on various projects and helping each other throughout the day. We also have excellent fine arts and enrichment activities and the parents at the school are so involved and welcomed. I could go on and on about this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

This is a great school. Wonderful Principal. Very caring teachers. May daughter has done wonderful at this school for the last two years. The one thing I love about The Principal is the fact that he encourages all the children to do their best. The children are very friendly. As to the food allergy rule, I think it's important to have. I certainly don't want anything to happen to my child. As to the curriculum, there is nothing boring at Meadowside. My child loves the school and always tells me funny stories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I absolutely love Meadowside! The Principal is fabulous! My children trust and admire him completely. To the one who says the curriculum is boring, you CAN teach through lecture to a 7 year old. My son is 8 and is excelling at Meadowside. It's not like it's a college lecture. Maybe your child just can't sit still. The parents at Meadowside are a close network of friends that work together to make the grammar school experience fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

We love this school! For the past 4 years we have had one excellent, dedicated, up to date teacher after another! Very welcoming atmosphere--incredibly professional staff who value and protect our privacy and that of our students---amazing principal and staff! We are so lucky to be part of such an excellent school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

We moved here recently and, so far, Meadowside doesn't compare to our child's previous school. Last year's teacher didn't want to be bothered, although this year's teacher seems a little better. Neither seem very interested in utilizing technology (computers, email, etc.) and the curriculum is boring, as are methods of instruction. You can't lecture to seven year-olds, folks... they learn by Doing. Also, this is not a very child-friendly school. You can't bring your children to open house, which is ridiculous. My child wanted to show us the classroom, desk, etc. The food allergy policy harshly discriminates against children Without food allergies and puts the onus on non-allergic children to keep allergic children safe, rather than on school personnel, which is who should be responsible for allergic children. I dearly miss our old school... Meadowside has been awful for us. Not to mention test scores...!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

Meadowside School is a top rated elementary school because it possesses several components necessary to success. One of the components is leadership. The principal is a 'real' person that is actively involved in every capacity of the schools activities. He is supportive not restrictive. Another component is the creativeness and innovativeness of the staff. The parents and children take great pride at Meadowside and it shows at any event you may observe.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students92%
Female97%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian American94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian American88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%

Writing

All Students88%
Female94%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian American97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students83%
Female89%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students85%
Female89%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Writing

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian American91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 4%
Black 5% 13%
Hispanic 3% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 Seeman's Ln
Milford, CT 06460
Phone: (203) 783-3555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Gabriel School
Milford, CT


St. Ann School
Milford, CT


St. Mary School
Milford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT