Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Masuk High School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a community member
I am a former student who has nothing but great things to say about this school. Masuk is a place where those who want to are able to succeed (abundant extracurricular opportunities, good teachers, great athletics, and many students go to top universities around the country). However, Masuk will not drag kids to success the way a private school may. The students who do well here are the ones who put in the effort and have their head on straight.

Masuk High School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
The curriculum at Masuk is challenging and differentiated for students. The academic program is advanced; the arts programs are excellent. In addition, the sport programs are outstanding (yes, the Masuk Football teams have been winning the State Champion several years and I m very proud to have my son in this football team). The staff is beyond exceptional. The dedication of many Masuk teachers is unparalleled and their effort shows in all programs. All of the teachers and guidance counselors are very caring and are genuinely concerned that you reach your potential. They create an engaging and fun learning environment. They are always available for extra help during and after the school day. My son said there is a multitude of extracurricular activities - clubs, sports, music, and drama/musicals. All of the students are encouraged to be active in the school and it is hard to find someone who is not. He is involved in one of the best public school on the East Coast. He will be graduated in June 2012 and will move on to higher education. I can honestly say I love this school and my younger son will definitely attend Masuk in 2013.


Masuk High School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a student
If your child is going to be in the honors program then this is the place for them but, if your child isn't above average then I would look somewhere else. The school puts all of its money into making sure its honor students are happy and ignores everyone bellow them. If you have a minor learning disability they treat you like you have a very severe disability. I hated masuk and was more than happy to leave their so called college prep program which is basically a ploy to get students to take foreign languages and higher math classes.

Masuk High School 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Masuk High School 4

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
The curriculum at Masuk is challenging and differentiated for students. As with most schools, there are a few dead-weight teachers who need to move on, but there are far more who go well above and beyond the call of duty. Primarily in the arts department (music, drama), the staff is beyond exceptional. The dedication of these teachers is unparalleled and their effort shows in the terrific choral and dramatic productions put on by the students at Masuk. Having said that, the junior who wrote in March 2005 that there was no violence or drug use at the school must have been living under a rock. Students have ruined dances in recent years by showing up drunk or by getting into fights at school functions. In this respect, Masuk is no different than any other high school: there are a few bad apples in every bunch.


Masuk High School 2

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Masuk High School 5

Posted November 24, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Masuk High School 1

Posted August 20, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Masuk High School 5

Posted August 19, 2006
- a parent
Coming from the Boulder, Colorado school system, 8 years ago, was a hard act to follow. However, having five children in the Monroe School District; with two graduated and on their way to higher education, I can say all have thrived and done very well. The teachers have been exceptional and I feel on top of my children's education. As long as the child is involved and takes control, they will do very well. Our experience has been top rate!

Masuk High School 3

Posted June 02, 2006
- a former student
I graduated from Masuk in 2004. I enjoyed my time there. I was very involved in activities through the music department and the drama department. The faculty for the most part is very nice, willing to help students wherever needed. The community of the school is great. Very few kids i know did not enjoy their time there and almost everyone found an activity to join.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Masuk High School
1014 Monroe Turnpike, Monroe, CT  06468
(203) 452-5823
Last modified Masuk High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Masuk High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top