Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandy Hook Elementary School 3

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
I find it disturbing that they don't give adequate homework or work books to take home. They give copied pages from work books and just enough for three days out of seven days. The amount of tax dollars, I pay should reflect in school text book's. The communication between teacher and parent is nauseating. I don't see how they are preparing students for the ridiculous common core standards. The first month of the school year, no homework was given.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
At the time of the massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary is academic performance ranked in the top 10%. This ranking is a testimony of the preeminence of star teachers and administrators not just teaching but teaching what the laws of the state and regulations requires and the mandated curriculum. Moreover, they follow the appropriate textbooks, which are aligned with educational standards of the state, as well as federal regulations. The school follows the eight principles or axioms of learning and believe that the brain's function is learning and it does not know how not to learn; and that all children are capable of learning the curriculum notwithstanding how rigorous. The school reached this meritorious ranking because it does not adhere to the inferior concept of "improving," but in the superior concept of maximizing or optimizing learning.


Sandy Hook Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 14, 2012
- a community member
A MESSAGE FROM GREATSCHOOLS: We are deeply saddened to hear of today's tragedy. Our thoughts and prayers are with the Sandy Hook Elementary School community in Newtown, CT. Out of respect for the families, teachers, and school at large, we are temporarily suspending the publication of new comments submitted by the public about this school. You may still submit 'reviews' but please be advised that they will be held and subject to review by our editors for consideration at a later date. All reviews must adhere to our guidelines. Again, all of us here at GreatSchools, send our sincere condolences and sympathy to those affected on this tragic day.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
All of my 5 children have done well, overcome obstacles with the stellar teaching staff,and have always felt valued at Sandy Hook School. Every staff member holds the bar as high for themselves as they do for the students. There has always been a family like atmosphere, highly personable as well as professional. The school motto 'think you can, work hard, get smart, be kind' is integrated into all areas, and it shows !

Sandy Hook Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and staff are excellent. I am really happy my kids attend this school


Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
The entire staff at this school is terrific.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2005
- a parent
I would not want my children to have their elementary education anywhere other than Sandy Hook! The teachers' have the gift of teaching in a way that fully meets the needs of every child in the classroom regardless of the vast difference in the childrens' abilities to learn. It's amazing! The opportunities for the students, beyond just the regular curriculum, are abundant. SHS is a culturally diverse community and all backrounds are acknowledged and explored. The staff beyond the teachers are also outstanding from the office staff to the maintainence staff to the cafeteria staff. They all have the best interests of the children and SHS community at heart. There is no more rounded education at the elementary level than at SHS.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2005
- a parent
I think SHS is a great place to have your child enrolled. Mrs. Donna Page is a wonderful Principal. The office staff, especially Barbara and Joanne are very helpful and kind to all the students. The school does a great 'One School, One Read' program. The kids and parents get involved with reading. The teaching staff is awesome. There is the Jolly Green Giant' fair each year that the kids look forward to. It is definitly a school that puts emphasis on parent involvement. Due to a relocation, my daughter left SHS, but is returning and cannot wait!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sandy Hook Elementary School
375 Fan Hill Rd, Monroe, CT  06482
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (203) 426-7657
Last modified Sandy Hook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4
Top