Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
At the time of the massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary is academic performance ranked in the top 10%. This ranking is a testimony of the preeminence of star teachers and administrators not just teaching but teaching what the laws of the state and regulations requires and the mandated curriculum. Moreover, they follow the appropriate textbooks, which are aligned with educational standards of the state, as well as federal regulations. The school follows the eight principles or axioms of learning and believe that the brain's function is learning and it does not know how not to learn; and that all children are capable of learning the curriculum notwithstanding how rigorous. The school reached this meritorious ranking because it does not adhere to the inferior concept of "improving," but in the superior concept of maximizing or optimizing learning.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 14, 2012
- a community member
A MESSAGE FROM GREATSCHOOLS: We are deeply saddened to hear of today's tragedy. Our thoughts and prayers are with the Sandy Hook Elementary School community in Newtown, CT. Out of respect for the families, teachers, and school at large, we are temporarily suspending the publication of new comments submitted by the public about this school. You may still submit 'reviews' but please be advised that they will be held and subject to review by our editors for consideration at a later date. All reviews must adhere to our guidelines. Again, all of us here at GreatSchools, send our sincere condolences and sympathy to those affected on this tragic day.


Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
All of my 5 children have done well, overcome obstacles with the stellar teaching staff,and have always felt valued at Sandy Hook School. Every staff member holds the bar as high for themselves as they do for the students. There has always been a family like atmosphere, highly personable as well as professional. The school motto 'think you can, work hard, get smart, be kind' is integrated into all areas, and it shows !

Sandy Hook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and staff are excellent. I am really happy my kids attend this school


Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
The entire staff at this school is terrific.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2005
- a parent
I would not want my children to have their elementary education anywhere other than Sandy Hook! The teachers' have the gift of teaching in a way that fully meets the needs of every child in the classroom regardless of the vast difference in the childrens' abilities to learn. It's amazing! The opportunities for the students, beyond just the regular curriculum, are abundant. SHS is a culturally diverse community and all backrounds are acknowledged and explored. The staff beyond the teachers are also outstanding from the office staff to the maintainence staff to the cafeteria staff. They all have the best interests of the children and SHS community at heart. There is no more rounded education at the elementary level than at SHS.

Sandy Hook Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2005
- a parent
I think SHS is a great place to have your child enrolled. Mrs. Donna Page is a wonderful Principal. The office staff, especially Barbara and Joanne are very helpful and kind to all the students. The school does a great 'One School, One Read' program. The kids and parents get involved with reading. The teaching staff is awesome. There is the Jolly Green Giant' fair each year that the kids look forward to. It is definitly a school that puts emphasis on parent involvement. Due to a relocation, my daughter left SHS, but is returning and cannot wait!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sandy Hook Elementary School
375 Fan Hill Rd, Monroe, CT  06482
(203) 426-7657
Last modified Sandy Hook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4
Sandy Hook Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top