Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carl C. Cutler Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2011

This is my first year at culer and it is the best i would never want to go any were else. I love all the teachers and the sports are the best all but one track you over do your self in that sport. The teachers are the best i learned alot from them, they take to time to teach you i needed that time because in 5th grade i was not taught very well in thae area of all core subjects and the teachers care and i am now a A+ student in all classes. i wouldn't want to go any were else but here. For all that go here learn all you can a study real hard and do you best. I learned that there is no real diffrence betden a C- and an A+ if you tryed you hardest. I think the princpals could work a little harder on the rules but over all best school ever.


Posted May 8, 2010

This has been my first year at cutler middle school and everyone is an equal. i enjoy how the teachers are serious about your education and are very involved. the school is very serious about doing your homework and paying attention. you can join clubs and do sports like softball, track, cross country and more. i will give this 5 stars because of everything this school does for you. just remember that you have to listen to the rules and try your best. thank you Mr.Grimes for helping me with math and having me try my best. i also thank Ms.Panucci because she is a fun teacher and i am always happy when it comes to social studies. Ms.Brink is also a great teacher i don't know anyone that teaches science better then this woman. every one of these teachers make learning fun and interesting. Go Cutler!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

i think that this is the best school ever and the principal does a great job running a school. the teachers are so loving and loyal and really want to make the kids better learners
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

Cutler truely brings middle school th the next level. From connetions to Hollywood to the amazing music program, I recomend Cutler to anyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2007

I loved this school more than any thing. Last year was my last year at Cutler. What I believe is the best part of this school is it's music program. It has a normal concert band and chorus, but then it has an advanced choir and the best jazz band around. Last year we won gold in the annual Colchester Jazz Festival for the 10th year in a row! I partiipated in all of those events. We also have a small, budding orchestra program. Everybody learned in the academics. The teachers came up with the coolest projectts. In Eniglish we had to write and produce a movie, which we then had an award ceramony for.We went through the entire math book during a school year, an none of the class started getting tired of it. Science was full of expirements and hands-on activities. And our sports have alway been the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2005

I finished in Cutler last year, and I feel as though it has a few good points, though they aren't in academics. The curriculum is weak except in math (comparatively to the district), but even then, the highest level is Algebra I. The music program is one of the best offered for a middle school. They have a jazz band which I participated in for two years which has earned the gold rating of the annual Colchester Jazz Festival 8 years in a row. They send more students to the Eastern Region Festival than most other schools. CMS has concert and jazz bands, concert and advanced choirs, and a new string orchestra program. The athletic program has been strong also the past years.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 31, 2005

I am finishing my first year with CMS and I am extremely disappointed. The academic program is very weak. The Math and science program quality depends on a range of teaching skills - from average to incompetent, mostly below average. Although the school is trying to improve writing skills, the curriculum does not require teaching skilled writing, nor do the teachers want/know how to correct for it. CMS has 10 LA teachers, and a floating 'grammar specialist' (when did grammar get separated from Language Arts and what are those 10 other teachers teaching?) Unfortunately, one of their best teachers is retiring this year and the administration is changing, as well. Parents are not as involved as they could be and the principal does not lead efforts to promote school/community/family cooperation. The music program is wonderful, however, and the kids have a real chance to grow within it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2004

I am currently at my final year at Cutler.The extra curricular activites are very good and normally organized.There is a great deal of teachers willing to help students if they need help with a subject.The rules are pretty much stuck to.Overall its a great shcool and they're open to anyone intrested in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Writing

All Students83%
Female92%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Reading

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students89%
Female87%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Writing

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160 Fishtown Rd
Mystic, CT 06355
Phone: (860) 572-5830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT