Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


S. B. Butler School 5

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
SBB is a fantastic school. The entire staff are the upmost in professionalism. The environment is safe, creative and happy. The school has allowed our children to express and grown as individuals with a sense of community in their daily classroom meetings. The learning is taught by master teachers. What a gift to all of us in this community!

S. B. Butler School 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended SB Butler for 5 years. We are very happy with the school. The teachers are fantastic and the administrators are as well. Butler provides a very nurturing environment for our kids with a good amount of individual attention when needed. Academically they are doing quite well. There is a great parent community as well with many PTO sponsored events. We have experienced nothing like the negative comments reflected in the old ratings here.


S. B. Butler School 2

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended SBB since third grade and is now in his final year there in fifth grade. I am very disappointed, not only with the teachers, lack of leadership from the principal, but the academic program is very weak. SBB offers no secondary language, and maybe has 1 maybe 2 computers in the classrooms. The science carriculum is very poor. I just don't see where the money is going to bring the school up to where it needs to be. Plus, I have never seen so many fundraisers in my life. I also feel that the teachers morale is low. Not happy with this school.

S. B. Butler School 3

Posted March 18, 2007
- a parent
I feel sorry for the teachers with a principal that does not seem to give any drive to this school. My child has not done very well at this school from a grade A student to a child that doesn't care about school or enjoying going anymore, thank goodness for orchestra it give the children the drive they need. This school you would think would be great, But no don't bother go somewhere else.This schools lacks drive....

S. B. Butler School 5

Posted May 19, 2006
- a parent
This school is amazing! It has great teachers who care about their students and very kind aids. The education is great and so are the music and reading programs. Your children also have a lot of fun


S. B. Butler School 1

Posted February 08, 2006
- a parent
This academically ruined my children. My child had to stay back because of lack of education. The teachers are nasty and the aids are worst. Bullies are a huge problem. The have one of the worst reading programs in the state. I would not recommend this school to anyone who wishes their child get a good education.

S. B. Butler School 4

Posted January 26, 2006
- a parent
My child been in this school for all of her elementry years. The school has great teachers who really care about what is going on with the childrens academics. I have been to several open houses and I only wish that school was like this when I grew up. The only downfalls are that the parking is a mess and the school needs to be brought into the 21st century as far as being able to acomodate the number of students there. School security seems a bit slacking as well. They should also make an effort to keep divorced and seperated parents informed of childrens education progress as well.

S. B. Butler School 3

Posted April 17, 2005
- a parent
As a parent of SB Butler school, I think this school is average. It lacks a certain charisma that better schools have. Kids at this school are just a number. Kids do not get punished in this school, and bullies are always a problem.


S. B. Butler School 4

Posted December 18, 2004
- a student
I a fromer student at Butler and I wish I could still go there. In the past years, more playground equipment and extra curricular activities have been added. Aids are all around the building for extra help in classes or just around the school. The principal is very kind and respectful to all as with every one else at the school. It is a great school and is always open to improve its self.

S. B. Butler School 4

Posted July 12, 2004
- a student
Some of the volunteers/aides handle discipline fairly. Also, the music program is poorly funded. However, the teachers are friendly and aware of students needs, and several have special work for advanced students. There is also an adequate amount of quality playground equipment, some of which the V.P. let me pick out!

Nearby schools

S. B. Butler School
155 Ocean View Ave, Mystic, CT  06355
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (860) 572-5825
Last modified S. B. Butler School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top