Advertisement
Advertisement

Sacred Heart School

Private | PK-8 | 366 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Britain

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2013

I went to sacred heart church school since preschool and graduated in 8th grade it was a good experience the food was great teachers are nice the principal is really nice but the learning was a bit harsh like 1 percent was harsh i really hope you guys would have fun there three or two more things i won the science fair then i went to the state science fair country science fair i won all of them hope you will have fun posted by me a student


Posted January 11, 2012

I agree with the review that says thinking for yourself is not allowed. Definitely true. Favoritism is also common. Anything that was ever (unrightfully) confiscated was never returned to me and claimed to have "never made it to the office" from the teacher. Yes, there are some teachers that genuinely cared for the students well being and educatuin (miss kulinsky - you rock!) but then there are ones who get some sort of sick satisfaction of making their students lives miserable (yes, im looking at you Eisner) Also, for gods sake change the lunch menu its been the same hot dog pizza and pasta for 20 years.


Posted October 4, 2007

I've been a student in SHS since kindergarten. It's my last year, and i have no clue what i will do wthout my former classmates. Yes, we had our ups & downs, but we got over it, and just made more enjoyable memories of our last years. SHS has been a great experience for me. Of course the first few years i didn't enjoy going to school in general. The uniforms didn't make it any better doing to school everyday ,but then as i look back i don't think i regret one thing. Well except for not studying for a few tests. The teachers are great and they all taught me a valuable lesson as each year went by. I will live each day of school to the fullest because no other school can compare to this one. Ill miss everyone !! <33 xoxo
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

My Child spent 8 years at SHS, graduating in 2005. SHS has high expectations and standards, and a staff that is dedicated and caring and develops the whole child, not just the academics. Their 'Special Class', gifted program allows select students the opportunity to learn about many challenging topics. My childs new HS (also Catholic)PALES by comparison. As a PUBLIC SCHOOL educator for over 30 years, I have no regrets about my decisions re SHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

It has been 20 yrs since I graduated from Sacred Heart School. My Sister and brother also graduated from there. My sister sent her 2 children there and they have recently graduated from Sacred Heart School. I decided to also send my child there and she actually started in the Pre-K program. She loves going to school. The teachers are great. I went on and graduated from college with no problems. I would highly recommend sending your child to Catholic school. They have great sports for the kids, soccer and basketball. and many clubs for the kids to participate in. I remember also the great field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

My children attend Sacred Heart and I have never had a problem with them not liking it. The program is great. Compared to public schools, I believe that they are well advanced in education. They do not allow any kind of bulling which I find comforting knowing that my child won't be picked on. They offer challenging advanced classes for children that are above the grade level and that need a challenge. The children go on fun class trips 2-3 times a year. The only sport that is offered is basketball but they have a great gym program. Overall, I wouldn't send my children to any other school. I feel comfortable with them attending Sacred Heart School and know that they are getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2004

Great school if u consider thinking not to be part of education. Discipline and punish was the game. Clety not interested in funding school but rather fatten themselves. Shame to see the collapse of Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

I attended sacred heart school K-8 and had a great experience there. One big memory I have is: I had won not only the school science fair, but the school entered my project in the state fair and I won there too. Plus the class trips were great!!! Every grade we went somewhere new - Washington D.C -- White House (8th grade), New York -- Statue of Liberty (7th grade), Pennsylvania -- Liberty Bell, Mystic Seaport, etc. with the current times being the way they are I am not sure if they plan these trips anymore, but it was the best experience of my life. It was a great stepping stone for my education. I went onto college and graduated with a BSN degree in Nursing.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 62%
Hispanic 4% 18%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Orange St
New Britain, CT 06053
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 229-7663

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pope John Paul II
New Britain, CT


Smalley Academy
New Britain, CT


St. Joseph School
New Britain, CT


St. Joseph School
New Britain, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT