Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pope John Paul Ii

Private | PK-8 | 164 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Britain

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

This school is disciminatory and bias towards non Polish children. Do not let your child go to this school unless Polish is their first language and English is their second. My child was singled out because he wasn't Polish by students and faculty. This is not a christian school, this is a show me the money school. The faculty could care less about teaching children morals that you would expect from a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

The school now is much much better, the principal is amazing and leading the school for its best. I have 2 kids in this school and thinking of having my third later after 2 years from now, my kids are simply happy and learning respect. The parents are more involved, the teachers never let any kid left behind with his/her studies. You go go Holy Cross/Pope John Paull II now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

My daughter is in 3rd grade and was in public school for kindergarten & 1st grade I love this school, They are great my daughter is so happy there it is worth it . The new principal is doing a great job. The website is always updated & keeping you informed . Her 2nd grade teacher was the best . I am very happy with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I have 2 kids now attending in this school. Itt is an amazing school, comunity and have wonderful communication withh parents and kids. They are always up to date with you concerning your child safety. I love how the parents are involved in their comunity, I just love the teachers there, Mrs Dorsey will be one of my kids teacher witch I love and admire a lot, she is full of life and always up to date with new stuff, she is a wonderful PreK 4 teacher, I wish she is the Kindergarden teacher as well, terrific. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

My child completed Kindergarten through 2nd grade at Holy Cross and is now enrolled at another catholic school for 3rd grade. He was a very good student as indicated by his report cards last year - never any indication or hint that he was behind in any aspect. However it turns out that he is not at the reading level you would expect for 3rd grade and is requiring extra help to catch up. I am extremely disappointed that this deficiency was not exposed until enrollment at another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

I honestly can say I know the school, because I've gone to that school from k-7 and I'm currently in the 10th grade. The academic performance of that school was soo low that I had such a hard time catching up in public schools. The teachers tried, but it seemed like the same thing over and over again. Also the parental involvement was very low in all extra activities. The school had hit rock bottom, so please choose another school for your kid.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2006

I have my child attending this school from kindergarten until now. He is is grade two. I can honestly say that with the teaching it is very good and I would not swap it for no other. My only concerns are the expenses. As lon as I can afford it he will be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

My first words are this - if you are thinking about Holy Cross School for your children - think again! Spend your hard earned money elsewhere. I have watched the school go down hill in the last several years and reach rock bottom this year - as tuition increased. There are several teachers at the grammar school level that are simply going through the motions without any enthusiasm for teaching and need to be replaced. There are several excellent teachers at the middle school level but by the time students reach the 6th or 7th grade the damage has been done - the foundations for academic excellence are sorely lacking. Parental participation in any extra curicular activity is minimal and limited to a very small group. Class sizes for specific grades are also too large for the teacher to handle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2004

Excellent school and principal / awesome leadership / instills decent life ethics to live by/ positive thinking and encouragement/ the young blood isn't always the best blood/strong parent councils and genuine interest in childrens well being / i attended , my children and grand child is there now - sister marlene the principal has earned her wings / god bless her
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 6, 2004

Strong principal Leadership. Excellent basketball and cheerleading programs. Great Catholic Curriculum. Strong work ethic. Children are greatly rewarded for their academic hard work. However you may discover that they are behind in the times in both their teaching methods and technology. It has become necessary to 'clean house a little' teachers are getting on in years and the older they get the harder it is to identify with their students and to make learning fun. They need some new younger blood!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 61%
Black 14% 13%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

221 Farmington Avenue
New Britain, CT 06053
Phone: (860) 225-4275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart School
New Britain, CT


Smalley Academy
New Britain, CT


Jefferson School
New Britain, CT



Pulaski Middle School
New Britain, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT