Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holmes School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Excellent school, staff all around, is going a outstanding job with the kids. Moving from West Hartford we had major concerns due to some bad reputations of the New Britain schools. However on the contrary we are having one of the best experiences. The principal show great leadership, motivates parents to get involved in the school and their kids life, she send out weekly phone messages, organizes other events to keep everyone involved. Needless to mention that she has a very good team to help her and support her, the teachers and the support staff is extremely great. I may add that my wife has over 15 years of European teaching experiences, and I have been also involved in different training and educations for about 10 years internationally, so we have a good understanding of the subject. I am highly recommending the school. Thank you very mush all and keep up the very good job.

Holmes School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Thanks Ms Hammer and Mrs Bacho for all your hard work with Ethan we are very grateful to have had your help!


Holmes School 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Great experience here! Ms Hammer, 1sr grade, and Mrs. Bacho, reading interventionalist, were amazing and played a crucial part in the progress of my son. They were patient, persistent and supplied us as parents with the tools to support our son's progress in reading. Social workers were very nice and responded quickly to matters that of concern to me. Principal was welcoming and knew our son by name. School also had festive family activity nights that we really enjoyed participating in. A lot of oppertunities to stay involved for parents. Great over all experience:)

Holmes School 1

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
This school needs a new principle and social worker. They are the reason this school is horrible

Holmes School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
For being the only honest person reguardless of what she is told to say by the social worker and principle


Holmes School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
The principle and social worker treat the kids very unfairly . when they principle and social worker does something wrong all they do is lie to cover their own butts. That is not teaching our kids honesty nor trust.

Holmes School 1

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
This school is very horrible. I just had a social worker scream at me not knowing what was going on. Not sure if this old man was going threw menopause or just have a miserable life but board of education will definitely being hearing from me. This school very unorganized.

Holmes School 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
I think this is one of the better schools in New Britain. The principle is a great leader, he cares about his students and is doing a lot to motivate them and challenge them to succeed. He really is "hands on" principle and great educator. There is many good teachers that go the extra mile to help our kids, but there is also some teachers that only do the minimum, nothing extra - but I guess those types are everywhere. (In my opinion teachers should be evaluated on their performance, how they teach and how they approach the kids). The True Teachers will do everything for their students to succeed, even stay after hours for free (I knew some of those teacher when I was in school). But overall I like the way the principle leads his school, He is a strong principal and an excellent leader.


Holmes School
no rating

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
This School seems organized at first but when I went to numerous meetings concerning my son, needing special services. There staff did not stick the original plan. First day of school, my son was basically rejected by his original teacher, who assured me that the best thing for him was to be left back and left under her care in her class. If the parent is willing to do what it takes for their childs education, then the Teacher should not make empty promises.

Holmes School
no rating

Posted November 14, 2007
- a teacher
This school has a wonderful staff of teachers. I think the fourth and fifth grade classes are some of the best in the entire district, and I should know as I have been in all of the elementary schools in the district. The staff is willing to lend support to a visiting teacher. The principal seems genuinely concerned about the success of his students. While, I think, early on when mainstreaming special education students was a new thing, it might have appeared chaotic, but now that everybody has settled into the idea of the mainstreaming issue, I think it has become better organized. I think this is a very well run school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holmes School
2150 Stanley St, New Britain, CT  06053
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (860) 223-8294
Last modified Holmes School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top