Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
New Britain, CT
Students enrolled: 699
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Slade Middle School 1

Posted October 06, 2012
- a parent
The staff at Slade are not focused on helping students to succeed. They are just there for a paycheck. Also, they do not encourage parents to get involved and treated me like a bother because I cared about how my children did in school. I did everything to try to help them and was treated very poorly. I was left with no choice but to change schools, then my children were successful. Very disappointing and discouraging. Worst middle school in New Britain!!!!!
1 person found this helpful

Slade Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a community member
i go to this school and its the best in new Britain middle school. i know its not good because were poor. if some would donate money we would get new desks and tables and other things.


Slade Middle School 1

Posted September 29, 2010
- a community member
Poor Administrative support for classroom books, supplies, and best practices for learning. The classes lack basic materials, or the books are over 10 years out of date. High teacher turn-over as the administration lacks skills or interest in supporting new and current staff. Faculty meetings are set to complete Administrative paperwork or complain about discipline in the classrooms without any ideas or support... for the most part these meetings are time wasters. The Administers cruise the hallways to check on uniform compliance, and send uncompliant students for a full day in-house suspension. The suspension room holods the children without any tasks, books, films, or any structure at all... makes for havoc and very bored middle-schoolers. The Administration has NOY advocated in the classsrooms for discipline and a safe learning environment. Feels like a world war some days throughout the building. Absolutely no love of learning here.

Slade Middle School
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
Ican't understand how a child can go to school without tools they need to learn. For example school books, no home work. Slade is not a good school, they dont challenge the kids, just pass them on the next grade.Horrible school

Slade Middle School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
They need to concentrate more in the kids education. They don't let us as parent to get involved.


Slade Middle School 1

Posted February 27, 2007
- a parent
The school lacks good leadership because those with the authority to make changes are too busy worrying about themselves and not the welfare and education of the children. The special education program lacks a knowledgeable special education teachers therefore the children get nothing out of it. And the children that go here do have a lot of issues and in most cases it appears that the parents are the ones responsible although some teachers do nothing to try and help these children. That being said there a few great teachers. Ones who it seems really try with these kids. This schools needs a serious overhaul and it's teachers and administrators should be audited.

Slade Middle School 1

Posted August 18, 2006
- a parent
Horrible, no work is getting done. They handle too many problems, that they hardly even have time to teach.

Slade Middle School 3

Posted March 18, 2006
- a parent
I think its a pretty good school, but the students have way to many problems, with the way they act. As far as the teachers go, I think they are too busy dealing with the troubled students, to teach anything useful. This school needs serious help.


Slade Middle School 1

Posted March 08, 2005
- a parent
Horrible school! My daughter did not get a grade in math last semester because her cluster could not keep a math teacher. The school hired two math teachers and they both quit. They've had substitute teachers since the beginning of the school year and haven't learned a thing. The teachers are very lenient and do not challenge the students academically. My overall rating of this school is very poor. They have more behavior problems than they can handle and the children's education suffer for it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Slade Middle School
183 Steele St, New Britain, CT  06052
(860) 225-6395
Last modified Slade Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Slade Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top