Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smalley Academy

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

My school is Smalley Academy and I think it lacks manners and respect. I have caught teachers in lies and I am disappointed in the lack of resources. I like some of the teachers though but mostly I give it an "F".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Smalley is a great school my children are new to this school and Let me say my kids actually like going to school! The teachers are great and never hesitate to contact our to reach out to the parent if needed. I have a 4th, 3rd and 2nd grader there .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

Get out of New Britain! The schools had the worst scores in the whole state of CT! Look it up! There's no money and they keep cutting on back on budgets. My daughter attended Smalley and this by far was the best school. The teachers care about the students! I had 3 different teachers in different years call me when they thought my daughter was slipping so they developed a system as a team to help my child and it worked! Thank you Mrs. Gagnon and all the other teachers who believed in my child! I won't allow my child to attend middle school or high school in this town. My family will be moving after my child completes 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Smally Academy is a great school because of its faculty and students. The faculty work with families and children to ensure a positive learning experience and the students are civil and kind. Smally emphasizes math and science and both are important for future college experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My daughter has attended Smalley for 5 yrs now and until this year I was pretty much satisfied. However the changes in the school the principal have disappointed me to the point that I am leaving New Britian to get my daughters the education they deserve
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

The school have shown very good progress in the past years and now someone desided to break the school apart. Dual Language is a wonderful program and Smalley will not be the same without it. Special thanks to my daughter's 3rd grade dual teachers for giving her encouragement and knowledge. We will see you at Diloreto next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I have nothing but good things to say about Smalley. My daughter was there last year for 'K' and now first grade. I have found the teachers to be wonderful. The kids are learning so much more than other public schools. Also, my daughter has some emotional problems and Mr. Santiago and now Ms. Fazio have been nothing but helpful and understanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

Smalley Academy is an great educational learning system that teaches kids behavior, responsibility and reading.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

SMALLEY ACADEMY, is a great elementary school. The Board of Education don't care about this fact. They decide to redistrict the children next year, move the Dual Language to one elementary-middle school, and split the grades between other schools, keeping just the fourth and fifth grades!!! The principal for 22 years in this school, Mr. Santiago, is retiring because of this discriminatory desition against the children of this school. Smalley Academy is a MAGNET school, with normal program, Dual Language Program and Scholastic Program. The parents participate in many activities, and the teachers work tireless for the kids. But that is not important in the New Britain Board of Education. For twenty two years Mr. Santiago create this succesful enviroment, and the BOARD OF EDUCATION BUDGET deside is not important. 'No child left behind' cry some nahive people. Reality: let all children behind, and nobody will notice! SHAME OF THE SYSTEM!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Excelent principal, excelent staff & excelent school. My son is a fith grade student. Special thaks to mr.Arroyo & ms.Centeno, great educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

I have my fourth child attending Smalley now. And I think it is a great school, the principal, Mr. Santiago is wonderful. The teachers are very dedicated to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Femalen/a
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic38%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%

Reading

All Students20%
Femalen/a
Male27%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic23%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English21%

Writing

All Students22%
Female18%
Male25%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic18%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female25%
Male44%
Black33%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English38%

Reading

All Students40%
Female35%
Male43%
Black33%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%

Writing

All Students60%
Female68%
Male52%
Black59%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female42%
Male30%
Black41%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic36%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English37%

Reading

All Students44%
Female44%
Male43%
Black38%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic45%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%

Science

All Students44%
Female52%
Male37%
Black37%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English44%

Writing

All Students61%
Female83%
Male44%
Black57%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 20%
Black 18% 13%
White 13% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

175 West St
New Britain, CT 06051
Phone: (860) 225-8647

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chamberlain School
New Britain, CT


Pope John Paul Ii
New Britain, CT


Sacred Heart School
New Britain, CT



Smith School
New Britain, CT


St. Joseph School
New Britain, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT