Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smalley Academy 2

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
Lack of communication and caring. My son's teacher doesn't care enough to be on top of her students regarding academic achievements. The vice principal is clueless. She never has answers always looking to others.

Smalley Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
My school is Smalley Academy and I think it lacks manners and respect. I have caught teachers in lies and I am disappointed in the lack of resources. I like some of the teachers though but mostly I give it an "F".


Smalley Academy 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Smalley is a great school my children are new to this school and Let me say my kids actually like going to school! The teachers are great and never hesitate to contact our to reach out to the parent if needed. I have a 4th, 3rd and 2nd grader there .

Smalley Academy 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Get out of New Britain! The schools had the worst scores in the whole state of CT! Look it up! There's no money and they keep cutting on back on budgets. My daughter attended Smalley and this by far was the best school. The teachers care about the students! I had 3 different teachers in different years call me when they thought my daughter was slipping so they developed a system as a team to help my child and it worked! Thank you Mrs. Gagnon and all the other teachers who believed in my child! I won't allow my child to attend middle school or high school in this town. My family will be moving after my child completes 5th grade!

Smalley Academy
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Smally Academy is a great school because of its faculty and students. The faculty work with families and children to ensure a positive learning experience and the students are civil and kind. Smally emphasizes math and science and both are important for future college experiences.


Smalley Academy 1

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has attended Smalley for 5 yrs now and until this year I was pretty much satisfied. However the changes in the school the principal have disappointed me to the point that I am leaving New Britian to get my daughters the education they deserve

Smalley Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
The school have shown very good progress in the past years and now someone desided to break the school apart. Dual Language is a wonderful program and Smalley will not be the same without it. Special thanks to my daughter's 3rd grade dual teachers for giving her encouragement and knowledge. We will see you at Diloreto next year.

Smalley Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
I have nothing but good things to say about Smalley. My daughter was there last year for 'K' and now first grade. I have found the teachers to be wonderful. The kids are learning so much more than other public schools. Also, my daughter has some emotional problems and Mr. Santiago and now Ms. Fazio have been nothing but helpful and understanding


Smalley Academy 5

Posted January 07, 2008
- a student
Smalley Academy is an great educational learning system that teaches kids behavior, responsibility and reading.

Smalley Academy 5

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
SMALLEY ACADEMY, is a great elementary school. The Board of Education don't care about this fact. They decide to redistrict the children next year, move the Dual Language to one elementary-middle school, and split the grades between other schools, keeping just the fourth and fifth grades!!! The principal for 22 years in this school, Mr. Santiago, is retiring because of this discriminatory desition against the children of this school. Smalley Academy is a MAGNET school, with normal program, Dual Language Program and Scholastic Program. The parents participate in many activities, and the teachers work tireless for the kids. But that is not important in the New Britain Board of Education. For twenty two years Mr. Santiago create this succesful enviroment, and the BOARD OF EDUCATION BUDGET deside is not important. 'No child left behind' cry some nahive people. Reality: let all children behind, and nobody will notice! SHAME OF THE SYSTEM!!

Nearby schools

Smalley Academy
175 West St, New Britain, CT  06051
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (860) 225-8647
Last modified Smalley Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top