Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
New Canaan, CT
Students enrolled: 208
 

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
We joined St. Aloysius 2 years ago and have been very pleased. My child entered the St. Aloysius family in 5th grade and received such a warm welcome by her classmates that by the end of her first week she said she felt like she had been in the school for years. She is reaching and surpassing our academic expectations and carries herself with such confidence because of the nuturing environment she is in.

St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
It's not possible for me to express how happy we are with this school. Principal Howard is an amazing educator and leader - and the kids love him! The teachers and children are provided with access to and support for all of the classroom technology you'd expect at the best of schools (of which this is one). Class projects are fun and challenging and are done at school so they are the students' work. Religion is emphasized throughout the day, not just during a 30 minute period. We transferred here mid year and everyone has made us feel like members of the community since the moment we arrived. Our child likes it so much s/he would wear the uniform 24/7 if we allowed it.


St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
As a parent I was very very disappointed in this school. The teachers were kind and the education satisfactory but the school has lost its sense of Catholic identity. The teachings of the church are watered down at best and some of the teachers off hand comments were actually contrary to church teaching. I also think that the discipline was lax. We left this school in 2006 so I do hope it has changed for the better .

St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
Combining a rigorous academic curriculum, devoted teachers and instilling of strong Christian values makes St. A's a great school for our children. Lower school children are provided with the proper nurturing to build independent study skills and enjoyment of learning. Upper school children are carefully prepared for success in area high schools and private prep schools.

St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
Academically rigorous but with a focus on Christian values. Recently updated with state of the art computer lab and foreign language classes. My three children are testing at a level equal or better to the New Canaan public schools. I have dialogue with their teachers and communication between school and parent is excellent.


St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
I have two daughters that started at St. A's after trying two other public schools in the area. My daughters are above average students who were bored in both the other schools. At St. A's, the teachers push the students to stretch their skills, providing a little extra work and a little tougher grading for the students who can handle it. Best of all, the teachers are free to TEACH and not waste time disciplining disruptive kids. If they're disruptive, after a couple of warnings, they usually are asked to leave the school. This is a superior school for any family who wants top-notch education coupled with a strong moral foundation.

St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has attended for three years. It has been the perfect school for her as she needed the focus and attention only attainable at a small school with dedicated teachers. They have built her skills and self confidence so she is now able to stretch her wings at a larger school. She will do so with a strong morale basis as well as solid academic skills.

St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2004
- a parent
Before sending my son to the second grade here, I'd placed my son in in our local (Darien) public school for first grade. It was a joke. He learned basically nothing except that the 5th graders could bully the little kids for money, and get away with it. Needless to say, I then resarched all the elementary schools in the area. St. A's is by far the best. For parents who are tired of PC public schools in so-called 'excellent' systems, St. A's is a really viable alternative. The atmosphere is cheerful, disciplined and family-like. The children are taught to respect adults and each other. Bullying is not tolerated. The curriculum is common-sense; although I wish it were a bit more traditional and demanding, I can and do supplement this at home. My son feels safe and happy at St. A's. This is a really terrific thing, nowadays.


St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
St. Alyosius School is a very small school that has 1 class per grade. It is a school that teaches the children about God and how to live a life that God wants us all to live. The children are tought to be good and kind to each other therefor, it teaches them to be good people. As for the teachers they could not be better! They are attentive and because of them my children reach their highest potential.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School
33 South Avenue, New Canaan, CT  06840
(203) 966-0786
Last modified St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Aloysius Diocesan Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top