Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Luke's School

Private | 5-12 | 529 students

SLS hallmarks are: Service, leadership and an unbelievably supportive community.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in New Canaan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,074,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 14, 2012

It's a nearly perfect school, and our choice after a thorough search. Their motto is "service" and one sees St. Luke's strive to "Be the change you want to see in the world." Fundamental decency here is VERY attractive throughout, as are the tailored academic STEM, Global Scholar, and Classics diplomas, the superb campus grounds, and user-friendly buildings. Most teachers seem absolutely terrific. Admissions folk are intelligent and helpful.--Crits: No fan of consumer marketing, the video and materials for prospectives are too sales-manipulative and not factual enough. (The school is better than that.) Some retro gender attitudes effect administration, academics, student life, and public forum. If SLS hires a gender advocate to tweak awareness along the lines of their sucessful ethnic and racial diversity program, they'll be closer to perfect. Sincerely trying to be the best school ever, an impulse we all endorse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

My child is a senior now. For any parent who has second thoughts about this school, I suggest to really take a look at how much the students LOVE this school. The guidance and support this school gives is second to none. We live in Greenwich, CT and happily make the trip each morning to school. This school has surpassed my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Two of three of our children attended St. Luke's. They only attended grades nine through twelve. However, they really blossomed academically. The teachers are caring and available for extra help anytime. The headmaster has done an excellent job of pushing the envelope so the students and teachers always strive to do better. We are very satisfied with the colleges our children eventually attended and the fields they chose to study. They can look forward to a bright future in the sciences because of everything they learned at St. Luke's. I would recommend the school to anyone who wants a quality education in a caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I work at the school, and I'm also a parent. I worked at the school for a few years before my children came, and frankly, I was a little concerned. What if the school wasn't as good as I thought? And believe me, I thought it was a great school. However, the opposite happened ... the school was even better than I could have ever imagined. It's been transformational for both my children. I'm grateful each and every day that my children can be inspired by great teachers who know them well and care about them. The friends they have made are also wonderful children from terrific families. It's a friendly, down to earth place where everyone can thrive -- students, families, faculty, community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Why not? it is the most amazing school. we have great sports, education, and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

This is some school ! I expected a top notch school based on the reviews but frankly, the school has exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Each day, my daughter is happy when she comes home from school. St. Luke's is that special place where teachers care, students respect one another and parents feel part of the community. I see my child's confidence growing in all she does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I have a 5th and 7th grader, and my kids really love it, and I mean love it. Nothing's ever perfect, and sometimes they complain about certain teachers, but when I asked them to rate St. Luke's from 1 to 10, they still gave it a 10. I consider that high praise. They wouldn't go back to the Greenwich public schools if I paid them (and Greenwich schools are not bad). As a parent, I would recommend St. Luke's for its very caring teachers, its friendly culture, and for fostering both academic and personal growth in my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

It's amazing! Im a 5th grader there and this is my first year. The varieties of things to do are amazing. It's a very free school meaning there are perfect classes for all your needs. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

The academcis are great.I am a 6th garader their.They have many choices.You have a big selection of after school activities.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mark Davis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (203) 972-3450

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Squash
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Squash
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Literary magazine
  • Many
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • A combination of challenging academics and exceptional community support distinguishes St. Luke's (SLS) and encourages students to go above and beyond their own expectations. SLS offers an inclusive environments where differences in race, culture, and personal beliefs are embraced as assets that enhance education. SLS fosters intellectual and moral growth, preparing students for college and giving them the tools they need for success. leadership and service in the world.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$30000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

377 North Wilton Road
New Canaan, CT 06840
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 966-5612

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



East School
New Canaan, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT