Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Canaan High School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a student
An alumni of NCHS who valued her education deeply. Send your kids there if you are considering it, just as valuable of an education as any private school in the area.

New Canaan High School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I am addressing the review written 4 yrs ago from a disgruntled student who attended NCPS. The individual called the drama dept., "slimy." New Canaan is an affluent community; parents afford dancing, singing, & theatre classes for their children from a young age. By the time these kids get to NCHS their talents are extremely honed, & the theater awards this school receives proves it! However, my own talented daughter found herself to be "a small fish in a big pond," but the drama teacher finds a place for every kid. My daughter worked on the set, props, lighting, stage direction, etc. By the time she graduated high school, she knew she wanted to be a production stage manager on Broadway & is currently a soph. in college pursuing a BFA and her dream. For the talented students who perform at NCPS, the competition IS difficult - Just like life! However, they learn about themselves & each other in the safe & supportive environment of a benevolent drama coach who is part teacher, mentor, therapist, & mom to these kids. This woman saved my daughter & gave her focus, passion, & a wonderful work ethic. How is a program like that "slimy"? Shakespeare said, "to thy own self be true."


New Canaan High School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a community member
I attended New Canaan High School and I affirm that it is a superior school. I often complained about how hard some of the classes were, but the rigorous academic programs have enhanced my life more than I could have fathomed at the time. As a future parent, I'm having a hard time finding a high school with comparable credentials in my new state of residence. If you're wondering whether or not to attend this school or send your teenager there, I would highly recommend it. My biggest complaints are the lack of windows in classrooms, how political and slimy the drama program is, and the weird, complicated schedule that I never wasted time memorizing, but at least it fashions the pretense of variety in life.

New Canaan High School 1

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Canaan High School 1

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


New Canaan High School 5

Posted May 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Canaan High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Canaan High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


New Canaan High School 3

Posted July 09, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

New Canaan High School 3

Posted February 14, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Canaan High School
11 Farm Rd, New Canaan, CT  06840
(203) 972-4444
Last modified New Canaan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Canaan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top