Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saxe Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
strong academics, teachers, administration and student body. starts in 5th grade, so they are focused on a smooth transition from elementary school to middle school, which is good.

Saxe Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
I love how they teach the children n a fun and safe environment. They also always make sure the kids can have something healthy to eat.


Saxe Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Although it's a large school, they do a good job of ensuring there is attention to all students. The orchestra program is very strong, as are Latin and math. My only quibble is that the guidance counselors could be quicker to respond and clarify school policies.

Saxe Middle School 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
My children have attended school throughout the country and abroad. The teachers at this school, for the most part, are amazing. There are a few that are uninterested and their lack of motivation shows. The principal is another story and I don't understand why he is still there. He hides in his office and does a poor job of leading. It's the teachers that make this school what it is. NCPS needs to find another principal.

Saxe Middle School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
unbelievably adavanced academics but kids are very rich so be prepared to be buying your daughter a longchamp bag, macbook, and juicy sweaters and buy your boy 15 pairs of custom nike sneakers


Saxe Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
I was concerned about the size of this school when my kids first started, but all of my concerns have been put to rest. There is truly something for everyone at Saxe. They do a great job. Academically they are right on track - if not ahead - with the private school we came from. My kids have flourished!

Saxe Middle School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
My daughter just completed 5th grade at Saxe and had a wonderful year. I cannot say enough good things about this school. We were a little worried about the school since it has grades 5-8. But the school does a fantastic job separating the 5/6 graders from the 7/8 graders. The start times are even different! The teachers are very creative, approachable and supportive, the administration is helpful and involved and the kids not only get a top notch education but they are exposed to the arts (music, art and an optional 5/6 musical), and have a multitude of activities after school to choose from and since the school is in New Canaan - there are several sports activities to choose from. I have never seen such commitment to education as I have witnessed in New Canaan - the entire town is committed!

Saxe Middle School 4

Posted May 21, 2009
- a student
i like saxe. were given a lot of home work and projects but the teachers are great and caring. we also learn about fun topics.like Africa in 7th grade and greek times on 6th. i have had a great year in 7th grade and can not wait for 8th


Saxe Middle School 3

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
the school is fantastic yet there is a lot of homework compared to other schools my child has gone to and leaves little time for kids to be kids.

Saxe Middle School 5

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
My daughter always went to international private schools in Europe. But when she was at the 6 grade, she attended Saxe Middle School. School was great, teachers were amazing and she learned a lot in one year. It was a life time experience. We are looking forward to go back. Well Done Saxe.

Nearby schools

Saxe Middle School
468 South Ave, New Canaan, CT  06840
(203) 972-4425
Last modified Saxe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top