Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hopkins School 4

Posted October 19, 2014
- a community member
Hopkins' strength lies in its dedicated faculty and rigorous academic program. The accelerated track and AP courses offered are definitely at a college level, and all "regular" classes have high expectations. Homework levels can become unreasonable with four to six hours a night especially for upperclassmen in an advanced course of study, but the administration has made efforts to enforce harder limits on amounts of work (to varying levels of success). Plagiarism is taken very seriously-- about one student a year is normally expelled for honesty infractions Athletics are good not great. Serious athletes might look elsewhere, but teams in traditionally popular sports (soccer, swimming, tennis, etc.) are at a high varsity level, and some students can go on to play D1 college. Unlike peer schools (esp. boarding) Hopkins has no kind of recruitment process Hopkins is a lot of hard work, and like any school, you get out what you put in. Don't expect Hopkins to be your ticket to Yale, especially because matriculation numbers are affected by a high volume of faculty children Also, those who allege that Hopkins is "unsafe" or "near a bad area" are racist and probably from Greenwich.

Hopkins School 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is uncompromising on academic integrity and prepares your child for higher education. The leadership is superior and patient with anxious yet committed parents. They focus on the development of each and every individual that walks through the gates of Hopkins as a student!


Hopkins School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent and challenging school and the campus is gorgeous. If your child is bright and motivated they will learn a great deal at Hopkins and will be well prepared for a challenging college curriculum. There are many very good teachers at Hopkins but also several stinkers. Unfortunately, some of the lousy teachers continue to teach at the school year in and year out. Our child was a late bloomer but really started to hit his/her stride after several years in the school. He/she also performed very well on the college entrance exams. Also, there is also a decent amount of diversity at the school and this is good exposure for the students. I would highly recommend this school for a first rate education, and start your child in 7th grade if possible.

Hopkins School 3

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
Don't bother applying to this school if your not wealthy and or if your child is not super smart. My child has been an honor student, attended the jr . national leadership conference in DC, and is in the jr national honor society registry. All that doesn't matter if you don't score high on entrance exam. I would like to mention that my child has been accepted at 3 college prep high schools, but Hopkins determined my child to be an under achiever???? I think money talks, and the no so wealthy walks holds true here! So Notre Dame is where my child is going and guess what? 99% of students here go on to the same colleges that kids from Hopkins do.

Hopkins School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
Hopkins is extremly good school. We are very happy with the experience that we had there. It will not be too much to say that this school has changed his life in a positive way. Before coming to this school, he was in Wooster school -Danbury. NO opportunity for a gifted and talented child. We moved to this area just to go to Hopkins. That was a big move but I have to say it was perfect decision that we made. Money comes and goes but the time does not come back. Making right decision at right time is very important. We are glad that my son had an opportunity to go to Hopkins.They have very efficient school staff, involved parents and very focus students. This is the school for the students who really want to do something in life. Be prepared to work. Wish you all the best!!! Parent


Hopkins School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
Hopkins is no doubt one of the best college-prep schools in the nation. It provides an accelerated curriculum for its academically gifted students. Extra help is always available for those who are confused about a subject. While it is academically demanding, you never have to worry about social status. It is an extremely friendly environment. Swearing, bullying, or anything along those lines is absolutely not tolerated. It is not common anyways, since all students are hand-picked by the admissions committee to be "hopeful youths." There are no "cool kids" or "unpopular kids". Everyone is equal in social status. It was ranked #19 on Forbes Top college Prep schools, but I believe it deserves a much higher ranking. Its campus is absolutely gorgeous, located on a field overlooking the entire New Haven. The average class size is extremely small, just over ten students, so each teacher can focus on every student's strengths and weaknesses. Like the students, teachers are all hand picked to provide the best education. Still though, its courses are ultimately challenging. If you cannot adjust to having up to seven hours of homework a night, Don't apply.

Hopkins School 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a community member
Hopkins is one of the most academically rigorous schools in the country, and, no doubt, the best college preparatory school in CT, and maybe even in the country. (Was #19 on Forbes' Top Prep Schools List, beating out schools like Deerfield, Choate, Kent, Hotchkiss, etc.) The campus is gorgeous (the outdated building has since been replaced with Thompson Hall), the athletics program is top par, and while, yes, there are a few stinkers, the teachers are great. I assume most negative reviews are from kids and/or parents who could not keep up academically. A very competitive school strictly for the overachiever. Can't skate by on money or legacy here! A great school for any kid who wants an academically rigorous and challenging environment, as well as amazing college placement.

Hopkins School 4

Posted July 14, 2011
- a community member
I liked the close-knit student body, the small class sizes and the personalized attention at Hopkins. The campus is great and not in a bad part of New Haven. The student body was driven but diverse


Hopkins School 1

Posted February 18, 2011
- a community member
Hopkins is a small private school in New Haven, CT which is in the Westville section. The students here come from all over, mainly the shoreline of CT. The academics are on par with private high schools. Some of the facilities seem outdated. It is easy to get lost here if you are are not super competitive. Not a great fit for everyone.

Hopkins School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
small classes, academically challenging, beautiful facilities, lots of respect among a wide variety of gifted students, caring faculty and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hopkins School
986 Forest Road, New Haven, CT  06515
(203) 397-1001
Last modified Hopkins School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Hopkins School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top