Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
122 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas's Day School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
St. T’s is amazing! From the moment my children started at the school it has been a positive experience. We were welcomed into the community like old friends, and the teachers and other kids embraced my children with open arms. Our family developed strong bonds with other families that we know will be life-long friendships. Morning Chapel has become a positive way to start each day, giving us yet another way to connect with the community. The buddy program has also been a wonderful experience for my children, especially my son. His buddy greets him everyday with a smile and has been so helpful in getting him excited about school. The school has become like an extended family. We just love the school!

St Thomas's Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and faculty constantly reinforce an expectation of respect. In addition, they model respect for children.


St Thomas's Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are amazing and really care about the kids. Sometimes I feel like they know my children as well as I do! They all seem knowledgeable and seem to make learning fun for the kids.

St Thomas's Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I am constantly impressed by how much my children learn at STTS. The curriculum is rigorous, but developmentally appropriate.

St Thomas's Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Every morning the children recite a little poem in Chapel that asks the them to make the world a better place beginning with themselves. Being caring and empathetic is reinforced throughout every aspect of school life. It is part of what I love about the school. I know that when I send my children to school everyday, they are learning to be good people.


St Thomas's Day School 1

Posted April 17, 2016
- a community member
As a former student, I can truly attest that this is a school where teacher's let bullies reign, and teacher's thus constantly turn a blind eye. Some of the teachers, past and present, even are bullies themselves. They will publicly berate a child in front of the entire class over a minor indiscretion, such as having black leggings on instead of navy. This school does not teach appropriate social values, kindness or in any way teach children class. Moreover, even when the bully and the bullied child must go to the principal's office because the situation is so out of control, the school doesn't even contact the bullied child's parents to let them know of the horrible situation that their child is in. AVOID THIS SCHOOL AT ALL COSTS.

St Thomas's Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 17, 2016
- a community member
Horrible teachers who are just inadequate at actual teaching and terrible people. I have no idea how this school has such supposed rave reviews.

St Thomas's Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
Chapel is a daily reminder of community and that kindness and thoughts of others matter in everyday life. A great way to start the day!


St Thomas's Day School 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
St. T's is a special place! It's truly a caring community. All the children know each other and the families are diverse, down to earth and friendly. The school has helped my children grow in confidence, creativity (art and music dept is amazing!) and focus on all that they participate in.

St Thomas's Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Chapel serves as an emotional gathering place and starts the days off in a thoughtful way.regardless of your religion, or lack thereof, this practice strengthens the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Thomas's Day School
830 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT  06511
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (203) 776-2123
Last modified St Thomas's Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top