Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cold Spring School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Haven

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2013

Cold Spring is just fantastic. Kids get a wonderful, rich, challenging progressive education. It is a gem in New Haven. There is no other school like it in its ability to differentiate learning for its students. The approach is innovative, really having kids think through what it is they are learning. And they love it! Teachers are warm and caring, and really inspired by what they do, pushing kids to the next level. We are so grateful to have found this school for our child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

We have 2 children in this truly great school. Our children are blossoming both intellectually and socially. The teachers have been very supportive to their needs and responsive to their requests. This is the best of child directed learning in a rigorous and structured environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

I have 3 children at Cold Spring School from preschool thru 4th grade and all 3 love school. CSS is in the truest sense a child-centered place of learning. It has a remarkable, rigorous and supportive academic and social curriculum, unlike any other I've seen or experienced. CSS nurtures the natural curiosity and sense of wonder of children. My kids think learning is fun and cool and that's because of CSS, its extraordinary teachers and its progressive approach to teaching and learning. (I think the CSS video which is accessible from the school's website gives a helpful and accurate overview of the school.) Financially I wish we had a comparable public alternative, but in my view, for these early years, CSS is absolutely worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Step into the hum of happy activity at CSS and you know something is incredibly right. In the K-1 classroom children listen with interest as a peer makes a weather prediction for the day. Pre-K students re-enact "Caps for Sale." On the second floor, students in the 2-3 classes are clumped in small groups peer-editing the poetry they've been writing. On the third floor students, in the 4-5 classes simulate the arrival of new immigrants at Ellis Island, or prepare a podcast on the Quinnipiac river available on iTunes. In the beautifully refurbished old house next door, creativity abounds in the art studio and the music studio while the 6th graders on the upper floor research ancient civilizations or write a new constitution. My two boys loved every minute of this marvelous school, its phenomenal teachers and incredible director. Correcting an earlier incorrect review: Classsize is always 18-21 with 2 teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2010

I cannot be happier that my son is at CSS! The teachers are just great. They really care about the students. They realize each student is different and they work with them to bring out the best in each and every kid. I am honored to have my son there and would not think of another elementary school. The class sizes are extremely small and learning is fun for the kids in this particular environment. Yes, the tuition is expensive but you cannot put a price on education! I am convinced this is the best school in CT! We are hooked on CSS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

My son and daughter were at Cold Spring from K through 6 grade, then went on to public schools. They hated snow days when at CSS, but welcomed them when in public school. They wanted to get to CSS as early as possible during the flexible arrival period of 8 to 8:30 AM- clear proof they found CSS an exciting and welcoming place. During and after CSS, they've taken full responsibility for their learning- no need for parental pressure to get homework done. They did have to learn that not all assignments given them in public school were worth their best ! They tested into the talented and gifted class in public junior high, but were surprized how many of their classmates there had lost the love of learning and had the creativity beaten out of them already. Moderately priced for a private school, and worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

My three children graduated from CSS a number of years ago. I have watched their Cold Spring education become the foundation on which their very successful academic careers have flourished -- and even more importantly, it nutured a core of values and ethics that helped to produce emotionally and socially well-rounded young adults. This is a hidden gem of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

Truly a remarkable school. The energy and creativity in the classrooms are palpable. Children are thoroughly engaged and take an active, joyful part in their learning. As a result, students really do become the self-reliant, curious and resourceful problem-solvers that the school s mission statement promises. Cold Spring grads are also good people who respect the strengths and weaknesses of others and know how to resolve conflicts. This is not a coincidence, but the result of the school focusing as much on the personal and social development of each student as it does on math or reading. Extraordinary teachers, and despite expansion in 2003, student teacher ratio is still less than 10:1. It's been an incredible educational experience for my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

My grandson is a student there and and he has developed into a confident happy little fellow despite having a huge change from moving across country. I have spent time in his class room and have seen the positive changes take place


Posted May 12, 2010

I cannot say enough great things about Cold Spring School. It has been a joy to watch the growth in my sons. There is never a word of complaint about going off to school. In fact, it is remarkable to see the number of students galloping to the school's front door each morning, excited to get going, get learning. Cold Spring's multigrade classrooms were a huge selling point for us. My sons' needs are met both academically AND socially, & Cold Spring takes social development very seriously. Bullying just does not happen here. There are two full-time teachers per classroom so groupings can happen in different ways and issues can be addressed immediately. These teachers KNOW my boys, which is apparent every time I speak with the teachers --and I always feel welcome IN the classroom/school. Also, the parent body has been warm, NOT elitist at all, & incredibly diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

An absolute amazing school. The master teachers are truly exceptional. The child centered/student directed philosophy coupled with a focus on the process of learning rather than the product allows for a deep level of learning (more acquisition, better retention etc...). Students grow to understand themselves as learners and don't lose their innate curiosity and love of learning. In addition, social and emotional growth is valued as much as academics. It's a warm, nurturing community of staff and families where children thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Cold Spring is a truly unique and special place. Curriculum is flexible and builds on the children's interests. Learning is introduced in such a multidisciplinary way connecting art, math, science, reading, ... The children don't even realize how much they are learning, they are just having fun and they come away confident, eager and curious about the world. Children are interested in and learn from each other (no doubt in part due to mixed grade classrooms and school shares but also culture and values). Teachers respect and enjoy the children and the teacher / student ratios are unheard of in this day and age. There is a rich program of 'specials' (art, music, language, fitness) that far exceeds most schools. Staff are supportive and accommodating. There is considerable diversity in each class and there is a generous scholarship fund. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

5 years ago Cold Spring wast the school everybody dreamed of. The teacher ratio was very small for having two grades a the same time in one classroom (12:1). With the idea of expanding the school, the teacher ratio also expanded with it almost doubling the amount of children in each classroom.... For $17,000 a year you can find better places around, with the same caring a loving teachers and with more amenities...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

It's a great school if you are one of the elite who can afford $17k a year for elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

This is a school that understands children. The staff is warm and caring, the parent body involved and unpretentious, and there is a great diversity of students. Walk into Cold Spring and you immediately feel why this is a special community. Kids are treated with respect and the multi-age classrooms really allow an individual's needs to be met-- academically, socially and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

A great school, with the most deliberate educational philosophy of any school I've experienced. It's all about the students as individuals, and the joy, engagement in learning, and mutual respect among teachers, students, and families is evident the minute you walk in the building. Terrific music and art; a calm, supportive environment; a true commitment to learning. The Cold Spring learning experience is structured around each individual child's interests and ways of learning, building confidence and individual responsibility. I've never seen a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

263 Chapel Street
New Haven, CT 06513
Phone: (203) 787-1584

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Fair Haven School
New Haven, CT


St. Francis School
New Haven, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT