Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amistad Academy

Charter | K-12 | 857 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Haven

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $146,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

I love this school my son has been going there since kindergarden and he's now in the second grade the school teaches the kids a lot of discipline and get them focusing on their future but for some children it may be too much to handle if you're not used to a structured setting they have a lot of rules that the other elementary and middle schools do not have so at times it can be tough but academically this is the best school to put your child in I love it and wouldn't put my son anywhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

My daughter has been in Amistad since kindergarten she is now in 4th. The teachers are nice my daughter loves them. My problem with the school is they have changed to much over the years when we 1st started there. We did not sign up for what the school has become today. My daughter is 10 years old stressing out. It's true what they say this school is not for everyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Student I love it it's strict so that nobody would get bullied and we have fun in class so we won't be bored in the middle school we have a lot oppertunitys to get thing or earn it .also in elementary school you could do the same thing in both middle and elementary we have recess .so send your kids here I have been here since kindergarten 6 gr bc I stood back once so they helped me to make sure I got the stuff like reading so now I'm at a reading level w please I think your kids would love it


Posted August 22, 2013

Amistad Academy has been a true blessing for my daughter. We have been part of the Amistad Family since 2010 and within the first year my daughter was reading @ grade level. She no longer gets bullied thanks to the strict rules of Amistad and she is able to concentrate on her schoolwork. Amistad has restored the love of School / learning for my child and I can imagine many others as well. Amistad has truly been a blessing and I am proud to be part of the Amistad Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

Our son started this year, we see a big change in him. He is above the reading level for kindergarten, the teachers are amazing and they respect one another if there are any problems they notify you right away, we love Amistad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

School does not communicated well and wants a kindergardener to behave like an adult. They are actually sucking the enthusiasm out my daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

The school is great teaches respect and has them readidng alot however is not for everyone if you have a special needs kids (ie) autistic, ADHD or one that is to hyper is not for them they do not know how to deal with these kids makes the kids life miserable they think all kids learn the same and that doesn't work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

My son has attended Amistad for 3 years and he loves it. I have visited the school on several different occasions and different times of the day.When I walk through the school it is so quiet that you can not tell there are students in the building. The students are so engaged in learning. The teachers and staff really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I love Amistad's teaching methods, they teach the kids on the proper level. They use music and games that they can understand. My son has excelled since being there and he doesn't like when they have days off. Thank you Amistad for showing my child the path to college and career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

the school has an awesome curiculum and the teachers really care about thier students .


Posted October 5, 2009

My newphew attends Amistad Academy. I love the fact that whenever I sporatically dropped by to check on him I am welcomed by the staff in the office as well as his teachers. I also like their structure for the staff and the students and their high expectations that all of their students will go on to further their education after high school.


Posted April 26, 2009

this school is by far the best around. the teachers are amazing. they make learning easy for the kids, they push the children to achieve and reach for great goals. i feel absolutely blessed to have my daughter attending amistad academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

this school is the best i have been here for almost 2 years. My teachers are the best the REACH vaules are great i am usally struggling with ''A'' it is very hard. For the 5th and 6th graders we have morning circle every friday to celebrate all the achievments students have done.I was really scared at first but i've gotten used to it!!! By:Brianna
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2008

This school is one of the best schools in New Haven. I say this because of the education and the time hours. I love the way the teachers teach the kids there times tables and converting decimals into fractions then into precents. Also, i love the time hours this is great because the city is becoming much more dangerous and people is going for our young people, and the hours that this school is providing makes the diffrence. The kids wont be out in the streets any thime of the night becuase of the homework that is given. I just graduated from this school and 've learned so much when I left. Thank you to all of my wonderful teachers: Ms. Kirch, Ms. White, Ms.Horne, Ms. Chow and Mr. Collins. Lastly, to the wonderful Mr. Taylor thank you and Keep up the good work. Naomi class of 2008
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2008

I have children at Amistad Middle and Elementary. I commend the teachers and staff. We have direct connect to teachers and principal at all times, anytime. They are very supportive to not only students, but teachers eve as well. The long day works for me, but it also gives the students great opportunity to excel in other activities such as music, arts, karate, etc. The teachers are really down to earth and relate to the children. There are high expectations of the students, but how else are our children going to succeed without us pushing them to always to their best? I recommend Amistad to any parent who wants to bring out the best in their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

This school is staffed with the most dedicated, 'out of the box' thinking and teaching staff I have ever encountered. There is a unique atmosphere which resounds daily at Amistad and it all equals educated success. The small sized classes, and individual student involvement are only one fraction of what has and continues to add to the high esteem of the students I am watching there this year. I am the grandmother of twins who are fifth grade students and I have been marveling at the high standards which are consistently reviewed and expected from the staff and students alike. This school is rated excellent by me.


Posted January 20, 2004

Great school very aggressive teaching style, love the long days with the encore program. The discipline action still needs some work, but the positive always out weights the negative. Parents are very involved, will come out for programs, teachers are always helpful. Strict reading codes are positive and most defiantly refreshing for a school in this city. Wish they had K-4, maybe then our city could compete with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Black100%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male57%
Black67%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic61%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Writing

All Students81%
Female93%
Male71%
Black77%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic88%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black98%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students70%
Female76%
Male63%
Black66%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%

Writing

All Students87%
Female93%
Male79%
Black85%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male80%
Black84%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic74%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students64%
Female68%
Male62%
Black70%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students63%
Female60%
Male65%
Black73%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Writing

All Students85%
Female86%
Male85%
Black86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black80%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students84%
Female80%
Male87%
Black81%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%

Writing

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Black86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black96%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Reading

All Students89%
Female100%
Male78%
Black92%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Writing

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
Black96%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male88%
Black86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Black90%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
Black74%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Writing

All Students93%
Female98%
Male88%
Black91%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black96%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Reading

All Students86%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students74%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black71%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%

Writing

All Students97%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black96%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 13%
Hispanic 34% 20%
Two or more races 2% 2%
White 1% 61%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A35%
Female 49%N/A48%
Male 51%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

407 James St
New Haven, CT 06511
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 772-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Francis School
New Haven, CT




Fair Haven School
New Haven, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT