Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Common Ground High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
I would have to thank everybody at common ground for helping my son succeed and for putting up with his mom when she calls (all too often)

Common Ground High School 4

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Common ground is a great option for parents of special needs students who can't find the right fit in the new haven public system. Our son is graduating this year and after two other new haven schools (his 9th and 10th grades) I didn't think we would get here. Common ground seems to specialize in catering to students on the autism spectrum and their teachers and aides work hard to educate without the stigma of "special ed segregation" If you have an 8th grader in the new haven area who falls on the autism spectrum I highly recommend you consider common ground first. I wish we had.


Common Ground High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Common Ground teachers are the best! They are committed to their students, to the environment, and to the parents.

Common Ground High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Some classes are more than others some are too much and some are non-existent, depends on the teachers.

Common Ground High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
This is the only area where I think that common ground could improve. My son is on the autism spectrum I know he sometimes can use his disability as an excuse to avoid work. Because common ground has so many ASD students the faculty sometimes have allowed students to leave class rather than stick to their work. In some small cases this can be good but not to the extent my son and his friends were permitted to leave class.


Common Ground High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Common Ground focuses heavily on respect for the environment and many of my sons classes had a conservation or environmental theme to them. One class in particular was food and the environment where he learned about modern farming and where our food comes from and he had a new found respect for the food system after that.

Common Ground High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
The farm nature of the school and the outdoor setting offer students learning experiences that build empathy. one of our sons best friends suffers from extreme anxiety and he was able to work closely with the "layers crew" (chickens and ducks) to help calm down during the day. His teachers and peers encouraged this positive behavior.

Common Ground High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Though half the student body has some sort of special needs or IEP, the teachers worked hard to hold them to the ethical standards as their peers without special needs.


Common Ground High School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My son just graduated from CG and my daughter is a current Sophmore. My son was well prepared for college when he graduated due to the excellent teaching staff who really go above and beyond to ensure that students succeed. Not only are the classes and teaching of good quality but the extra-curricular opportunities are wonderful as well. They have a small basketball team but no other team sports. They are adding on a new "green" building which is much needed and will definitely improve the facilities of the place which are a bit run down. Although they don't have every AP available they have enough to keep you busy and will make every effort to send students that are way above in a certain subject to local colleges to take a course if need be. My son graduated with an amazing array of outside activities that the school made available and was sought after by colleges because of this. It's a great school!!

Common Ground High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
Special thanks to teachers: Mike Horbachuk, Jeremy Stone, Larry Dome and Joan Foran.....you lay the foundation and expectation of what teaching should be and honestly there are many teachers at the college level who cannot compare.

Nearby schools

Common Ground High School
358 Springside Ave, New Haven, CT  06515
(203) 389-0823
Last modified Common Ground High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top