Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barnard Environmental Magnet School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a community member
My 3 childrens study at Bernanard now my son is in the army and my middle daughter Yariana is going next yr to University central florida ( UCF) she is will study BioTech she thanks to Barnard magnet and envioromental studies. I miss this school.

Barnard Environmental Magnet School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends kindergarten here. The school environment is awesome. The teachers, staff and principle are extremely active with the students, making learning fun. It's a positive place at Barnard.


Barnard Environmental Magnet School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
We love Barnard. The teacher and management of this school face their daily challenges with composure and level headedness. We have never had any issues with inappropriate behavior or been met with anything but an understanding teacher/staff member who is eager to address our concerns and make sure that our child is enjoying their education experience to the fullest.

Barnard Environmental Magnet School 2

Posted October 31, 2010
- a teacher
This school is all smoke and mirrors! They brush everything under the rug especially the huge discipline problems. The administration has no close involvement with implementing discipline, and the principal and assistant are so removed from students and staff, it's ludacris! I agree with the reviewers who noted, behavior issues, bullying and disorganization as rampant, and the new principal has changed nothing!

Barnard Environmental Magnet School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
Barnard is an awesome school!!!! The teachers and administrators always go the extra mile.


Barnard Environmental Magnet School
no rating

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
the principal seems to be unable to handle disciplinary problems

Barnard Environmental Magnet School 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
Barnard Environmental Magnet School is a great school that teachers the 3Rs, as well as bringing science (especially environmental science) to a real world and real life level, with 'pets' in the classroom and around the school, a science room, a science center and gardens that the children tend to. And they learn the 4th R - Respect. Respect for self, others, adults and the Earth.

Barnard Environmental Magnet School
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I felt this school was overwhelmingly disorganized, even now in May we know very little about the goings on at this school. I felt discouraged to participate with my children, and the bullying and roughhousing is out of control. I would recommended everyone to go somewhere else. My sons will not be returning to that school, I am very disappointed and lost faith in the Magnet school system it's a sham.


Barnard Environmental Magnet School
no rating

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of a kindergarten student at Barnard. He has been there since he was 3 and attended the PK-3 classroom. Teachers at Barnard have always gone above and beyond what they can do to make my son feel safe and comfortable. When he was 3 he had a hard time leaving me. His first teacher at Barnard was amazing. He quickly trusted her and her assistants. He now feels like he is a prince when he walks into the building. We now have a new principal who has already shown us that there is going to be a lot of positive changes. I applaud the administrative and teaching staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barnard Environmental Magnet School
170 Derby Ave, New Haven, CT  06511
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (203) 691-3500
Last modified Barnard Environmental Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top