Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
I was fortunate that my daughter was accepted from the suburban lottery to attend this school. Yes, you read right. I chose to send her to a city school - and I am so glad I did! At BRAMS, she changed from a shy, struggling student to a confident honors student with a passion for education. With very little exception, the experience was beyond positive. The teachers - from dance to English to science - are passionate about their subjects and it shows. They each seem to have the gift of finding that "spark" in your child and developing it to help your child shine. My only "negative" about this school is that it ends in 8th grade. The 4 years my daughter spent here before graduating in 2014 were an incredible experience we were sad to see end.

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 5

Posted June 28, 2014
- a community member
My school is one of the most best schools in new Haven (my opinion) I love the arts I get good grade high honors and I love the dance the block classes are ok but I would rather have classes to where that I could switch from class to class. I LOVE my pricipal he is very good at his job and if he needs us to improve he makes sure it happens if we need to behave better and have a positive attitude then he will check us and he might not trust me but I still go to his school and I now obey his rules so that I can make my academic success. I have noticeed many things here than at my old school. At my old school we had to stay in one class and one teacher for the whole year I got good grades but not as good as the one shaper eat Betsy Ross I like how at Murphy school I have more focus and freedom than at my old school which is Celentano when I was stuck in a class filled with all girls.


Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 4

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is a really great school! So glad my kids go here. I like the principal.

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Sean True is the definition of what a great guiding Principal should be. He understands his students and helps them challenge themselves to achieve. The Staff is knowledgeable, responsive and helpful. The teachers dealing with my child have been well prepared, personable, committed and talented in their field. My child came here from a well-considered private school and stated, "I learn more here in a day than I did there in a week."

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 4

Posted November 26, 2012
- a parent
My daughter came from a catholic school to BRAMS. She has been there since 7th grade. I have no complaints. My daughter loves the school. The teachers are good. I have great relationships with two of my daughter's previous teachers. There is a wonderful art show at the end of the year to showcase the visual arts students. I have not had any problems and the administration will address any concerns in an efficient manner.


Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 5

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
My daughter was accepted through the lottery program. I was so thrilled. I went to the Open House and we were filling out entry application before we even left the school that evening. It has exceeded my expectations! Arts Coordinator and Principal are awesome! Did I mention how much my daughter loves going to school?? She does!! What a great feeling!

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
We love the school. It has a very challenging, demanding curriculumn combined with the love of the arts.

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Betsy Ross is extremely well run by professional people who car about their students. It offers students a fabulous alternative to traditional schools. I also love ECA, but they are not listed.


Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 1

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School 5

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School
150 Kimberly Ave, New Haven, CT  06519
(860) 437-6450
Last modified Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Betsy Ross Arts Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top