Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
As the parent of an incoming Davis St. kindergartener, I'm horribly disappointed in this school. Yes, we've had a hurricane, but NO effort was made AT ALL over the summer to acclimate kindergartners to the school. There were NO teacher meet and greets, no letter of welcome from the teacher, no letters to parents about curriculum or expectations. I do not even know who my child's teacher is. In my opinion, this is poor organization and shows a complete lack of disrespect & concern for students and parents. No one answers the phone in the summer. So my questions will have to wait for tomorrow evening at our "outdoor orientation." WAy to show new students their classrooms, their cubbies, show them what they may expect the following morning when they are dropped off at school for the first time. Also, I have no clue if there is a before and/or after school program, so I have no way of knowing if I can pick my son up when I normally leave work, or if I need to leave early. NO clue. Guess I'll find out last minute by someone who will surely act annoyed to have to speak with me--but that's how Davis rolls. ...

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
I love my daughter's teacher! Just started this school but so far I am happy! Violin lessons and Chinese are a plus!


Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
I love the academic program and the entire staff. The school is based and geared at celebrating diversity and the arts. The students learn two languages, noth Chinese and spanish. Their is an international day celebration annually that is a lesson/ introduction to various nation's cultures: food, garb, geography, language, and much more. The staff, teachers, and principal are all equally assecible and involved. They have after school science, music/band, and drama class. They have internal academic support and advancement options for all learners: an integrated academic program!Their is a diverse student population. The greatest negative aspect is that as a public, inner city school; one faces the harsh reality of financial strains and demographics. the money available in participating with this essay could be used in a myriad of basic needs and advances in technology.

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
its the best school ever. great teachers and a strong pta

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff are dedicated professionals who have an instilled a love of learning in my children. Their enrichment programming is amazing.


Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Davis Street Magnet School is full of an amazing group of students and staff. The amount of talent and dedication by both groups in this school is wonderful to see.

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Davis Street Interdistrict Magnet School has some excellent teachers, administrators, students and families all working for the best for the school family/school community.

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School 4

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
I am happy with the choice I have made sending my children to Davis. The teachers are wonderful and I am hoping parent involvement with grow after the school is renovated in the next year.


Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
Most teachers are very much in-touch with the kids needs.

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School 4

Posted July 06, 2006
- a parent
The academic program at Davis Street is excellent. The teachers are very involved. The school offer great programs and ability for the students to learn. The school environment is about leadership, respect and learning. The band is excellent and gets requests to perform all over the city. Their Before and After school program gives the student added opportunities to learn other areas than academics such as sewing, ballet, sports)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School
35 Davis St, New Haven, CT  06515
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (203) 946-8660
Last modified Davis 21st Century Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top