Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Hillhouse High School

Public | 9-12 | 963 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2009

i think that this school is great school because i went there and it has grest academics
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

I went to James Hillhouse from 1995-1999. At first I thought I ended up at a 'bad' school and eventually my experience there was the best years of my life. I was a constant honor roll student and I got involved in extra curricular activities, especially sports. I excelled on and off the field with the aid of supportive family members and staff members that cared. Help was always there, I simple took advantage of it and pursued academic and athletic excellence to the fullest. Post hilllhouse career,I would say I did well. I went on to college and graduated with a bachelor and master's degree in education. I also was a Big Ten Champion and currently hold the school record in the pentathlon. I was a product of this school. Overall, utilize your resources and don't believe the hype. As my students say, 'do you.'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2006

I think overall Hillhouse has a good academic program. The help is there if you want it. Although, I believe some of the teachers are there for a paycheck & not the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

I am a current student at Hillhouse and I love the school. I think that the school recieves a bad reputation because of the select few knuckle heads that attend. The staff is very caring and they help you when help is needed. They're are plenty of programs availible for students to better themselves including Saturday Academy and the 21st Century after school program. We have a large percentage of students attending Ivy League schools including Yale and Duke. If you look past the negative press and see the school for what it really is, you'll agree that it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2005

I attended Hillhouse from 1980-1984 and we had nothing but good things going on there. I see from the reviews times have changed. I was on the Track Team, Basketball team (girls) and the Pep Squad.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 10, 2004

although hillhouse to me has the best academics i believe that they need to mature as far as the staff.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 3, 2004

Hillhouse has been a bad influence on my young daughter. She used to get straight A's until she attended Hillhouse. I pulled her out of it after one year, and now she is better and back on track. I don't recommend anyone enrolling their children here. The J.R.O.T.C. program is rather good however.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
3%

2009

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
9%

2009

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
3%

2009

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

187 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
20%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students7%
Female5%
Male9%
Black4%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English8%

Reading

All Students9%
Female10%
Male7%
Black5%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English10%

Science

All Students7%
Female6%
Male8%
Black5%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities8%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English8%

Writing

All Students19%
Female22%
Male16%
Black19%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English22%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 13%
Hispanic 19% 19%
White 3% 62%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

480 Sherman Parkway
New Haven, CT 06511
Phone: (203) 946-8484

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT