Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Hillhouse High School 5

Posted August 25, 2016
- a community member
Hillhouse has helped me immensely with my school work, with getting used to not always being in my comfort zone which made me a better person, and let's not forget preparing me for college. Everything you need is there it's just that people choose to not use the tools provided to them and then it makes the school look bad.

James Hillhouse High School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
i think that this school is great school because i went there and it has grest academics


James Hillhouse High School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2006
- a student
I went to James Hillhouse from 1995-1999. At first I thought I ended up at a 'bad' school and eventually my experience there was the best years of my life. I was a constant honor roll student and I got involved in extra curricular activities, especially sports. I excelled on and off the field with the aid of supportive family members and staff members that cared. Help was always there, I simple took advantage of it and pursued academic and athletic excellence to the fullest. Post hilllhouse career,I would say I did well. I went on to college and graduated with a bachelor and master's degree in education. I also was a Big Ten Champion and currently hold the school record in the pentathlon. I was a product of this school. Overall, utilize your resources and don't believe the hype. As my students say, 'do you.'

James Hillhouse High School 3

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
I think overall Hillhouse has a good academic program. The help is there if you want it. Although, I believe some of the teachers are there for a paycheck & not the students.

James Hillhouse High School 4

Posted March 21, 2006
- a student
I am a current student at Hillhouse and I love the school. I think that the school recieves a bad reputation because of the select few knuckle heads that attend. The staff is very caring and they help you when help is needed. They're are plenty of programs availible for students to better themselves including Saturday Academy and the 21st Century after school program. We have a large percentage of students attending Ivy League schools including Yale and Duke. If you look past the negative press and see the school for what it really is, you'll agree that it is a great school.


James Hillhouse High School
no rating

Posted January 08, 2005
- a student
I attended Hillhouse from 1980-1984 and we had nothing but good things going on there. I see from the reviews times have changed. I was on the Track Team, Basketball team (girls) and the Pep Squad.

James Hillhouse High School 2

Posted December 10, 2004
- a student
although hillhouse to me has the best academics i believe that they need to mature as far as the staff.

James Hillhouse High School 1

Posted December 03, 2004
- a parent
Hillhouse has been a bad influence on my young daughter. She used to get straight A's until she attended Hillhouse. I pulled her out of it after one year, and now she is better and back on track. I don't recommend anyone enrolling their children here. The J.R.O.T.C. program is rather good however.

Nearby schools

James Hillhouse High School
480 Sherman Parkway, New Haven, CT  06511
(203) 946-8484
Last modified James Hillhouse High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top