Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sound School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sound School 5

Posted July 05, 2009
- a community member
This school is truly amazing in everyway.I love it and plan going here for all 4 years of high school.


Sound School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
The Sound School provides a truly unique learning experience for high school students. My daughter attended a private Catholic grammar school, and the main reason we chose The Sound School over more traditional high schools was that the curriculum focused on hands-on learning rather that rote studies. Not all students can excel in a traditional environment, and The Sound School is the perfect fit for students who have a tactile and visual learning style. It is unfortunate that this resource (Great Schools) ranks schools based on standardized test scores. The Sound School is the perfect place for a student who may not excel in a 'standardized' format, but who has talent and success in an alternative environment.

Sound School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sound School 5

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sound School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
The Sound School is the best thing that could have happened to my son s education. When your child wants to go to school every day and can t wait for summer vacation to be over you know they must be doing something right. I m so happy that we found a school that fits him so perfectly. I m a proud Sound School Mom!

Sound School 5

Posted January 15, 2007
- a parent
Sound school in new haven is a great school. My son went from having a 35 in algebra before sound school and now has a 95 average. This is all due to there small classes and there way of teaching. The teachers there are awesome! they are always there to help. Also there teaching techniques have alot of hands projects. This is also great for the kids. It keeps them interested and they are learning while they are having fun. I have nothing but positive things to say about the sound school. My son also feels the same. I thought that leaving all his friends would bother him. Also there all different kind of activities for the kids to get involved. This is also great because not all kids enjoy or can do contact sports. But if they do want to play sports they can play with other schools.

Sound School 5

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
My son attended The Sound School for three years begining with his sophmore year. He quickly found his niche which was sorely missing a previous public schools. The Sound School is quite small and diverse with its faculty, administration, resource, and student body. This enabled my son to feel more relaxed and certainly well accepted by all. The teachers are down to earth, caring and knowledgable in their area of expertise. Especially with regards to helping students find their way academically, vocationally and socially to some extent. For the most part, students work together with one another and have pride in their unique opportunitiy to attend this small, quaint, dedicated vocational high school located on the beautifuly Long Island Sound.


Sound School 4

Posted September 01, 2004
- a former student
The Sound School is an outstanding facility for teaching children with alternative needs. It also creates a familia atmosphere for many children in need of additional social support. I would highly recommend this school to another parent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sound School
60 South Water St, New Haven, CT  06519
(203) 946-6937
Last modified Sound School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sound School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top