Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
New London, CT
Students enrolled: 935

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

New London High School 5

Posted November 10, 2013
- a parent
NLHS has dramatically improved and is the highest performing urban high school in CT. My child is being challenged and I'm extremely pleased with the competent and caring staff! There are so many opportunities for my son to earn College credit. ECSU, Mitchell College, name a few, all offer courses at NLHS. My son will most likely earn 22 college credits by graduation! You can't beat that combined with the Whalers superior athletic program! Very pleased with this school.

New London High School 3

Posted March 03, 2012
- a student
The science and technology magnet school which is good. The teachers are nice and care about your future and education. The regular high school is not so great. Teachers there don't know how to teach and there "honors program" is not a challenge. Only come here if you like science and technology, that magnet school has a lot of class that you can take. You only go to the regular high school for your language class, history, english, and lunch. The other classes are in the magnet school.

New London High School
no rating

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
Terrible school - Poor morale, teachers don't care; students act like thugs. fights every day; only care about athletic program.

New London High School 1

Posted May 07, 2009
- a community member
This 'school' is very poorly run. It is the victim of some very bad administrative appointments and suffers from very low morale. The teachers do try, but lack of resources, politics and nepotism interfere with everything.

New London High School 4

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
The administrative staff is very helpful; teachers I didn't have the opportunity to met them, but my son is very pleased with the classes. the only thing I really don't feel comfortable with, is the students behavior, they're very rude and fights are on daily basis.

New London High School
no rating

Posted July 05, 2007
- a student
I never felt challenged at the school. Every year there are some new rules that do not benefit anyone but just cause confusion and wasted time. Most of the focus is on the athletes. The athletic program gets new things and more money, more than needed. More money should be spent to making the programs at the school better for the students. There is not enough art appreciation, there used to be about 5 years ago but that fell apart. No one listens to the opinions of the students, which I find sad. Nothing is done efficiently. Files are lost, homework goes missing... and the only one to blame is apparently the student when in fact it's usually the adult in charge. I did enjoy the diversity and bringing in the magnet school kids has brought in even more.

New London High School 3

Posted May 01, 2007
- a parent
No communication. My sons physical form was misplaced.Th en his entire medical record was misplaced.Eventually found on the desk in a pile.I guess they never heard of the hepa law.If you are not a sport star you may get a uniform.The stars get better treatment. The youth officer has children in the school which i think is a conflict of interest. I feel he's less apt to arrest someone in fear that they may retaliate on his children. Because a subsitute misplaced a doctor's note excusing my child from school, we was told to not give important paperwork/homework to them.Are they not capable of handling it? I personally think my son was getting a better education while attending the waterford system.Alot of teachers at nl talk down to the kids.But yet expect respect back.You must give to receive.

New London High School 3

Posted March 30, 2005
- a student
Honors program: not challenging and not enough honors classes. Also average and a below average students aren't focused on. They are not the priority. Extracurricular activities are okay. Parent involvement: very low. It seems as though parents don't care about what there students are doing or not doing in class.

New London High School 3

Posted February 12, 2005
- a student
*Decent honors program, but overall lacks academic vigor. *Average extra-curricular activities. *Focused more on equality than achievement. *Excellent music program. *Average athletics program. *Decent administration. *Average staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New London High School
490 Jefferson Ave, New London, CT  06320
(860) 437-6400
Last modified New London High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New London High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top