Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

From the New London District plan, published in the 2012-2013 year. These numbers do not lie. There is a serious problem with the leadership ruining this once adequate school: High Staff Absenteeism & Turnover contributes to inconsistency of instruction. o 20% of teachers had more than 10 absences; 67% of teachers had 5 or more absences o 43% of the staff is new to the building since Jan. 2010. (22/51 teachers)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

All locals gave this school bad reviews but unfortunately since its the only non-lottery middle school in New London, my child had to attend here. The staff (except for the secretary) are all rude. The principal and teachers and guidance counselor have no patience, training or compassion towards kids with learning disabilities. When I addressed a bullying issue to the guidance counselor, he just strongly suggested that my child was just depressed! Ask the locals, there is definitely a reason why everyone dreads having their child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

This school is volatile. The reputation of this sub-par school is well known in SouthEastern CT, which unfortunately discourages teachers from applying. New London had to host a special job fair in order to lure teachers in to this school. There has been such a massive exodus of teachers (and education-minded families) over the past three years, that the core of Bennie Dover is no longer recognizable. The music program, in particular, has floundered, having lost their excellent band director of a couple of years ago. While the administration spreads untruths about only incompetent teachers leaving, it is a fact that even the new, excellent teachers are leaving - some of them excellent, male role models. Police were finally brought in because of the dangerous atmosphere and that seems to have helped, but what kind of environment is that for kids to learn in? A rumor that the former vice-principal will return as principal from the high school in 2013-2014 (and the current principal finally demoted to a less challenging grammar school) give some hope to the return of competent leadership. One can only hope that the new Board of Ed, although mostly uneducated, can help.


Posted February 21, 2013

Bennie Dover is improving everyday. As the parent of three children (two have since moved on to the high school, one is still in the school now), AND a teacher in a neighboring district, I have been very focused and aware of my childrens' education. There was a point a few years ago where I had some concerns over behavior and administration. It seemed like expectations were set low enough for everyone to achieve an A (way too easy). In the past 3 or 4 years, there have been massive changes in accountability. The staff have gone through extensive training in more effective methods, and the student behavior is no where near the reputation that some other reviewers have mentioned. Not quite a 5 yet, as there are still areas of improvement (such as consistent discipling, availability of special education and other aids/support staff, and availability of technology and assistive technologies). They are now piloting an extended day program to help make up for language or learning deficits - very promising! Looking forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

It is not organized. There is no dicsipline. The teachers are always looking over there shoulder at the principle and vice principle. and I heard that it used to be better a few years ago. Should have listened to people who said to not move to New London unless you can afford the catholic schools or can get lucky with the lottery in the magnet schools. The local newspaper does not cover what actually happens in the school. You have to hear it from your kid or from other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Good teachers, bad students, incompetent Administration. This is a dangerous place for small children who cannot defend themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

I think this is an overall great school, it just needs a little work and the behavior can be a little better as the enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I am a student at bennie dover jackson middle school. I think this school is great. Some parents think that bdjms is a bad school but to tell you the truth its a very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

Hello I am a student of BDJMS. I would like to point out several things about my school. Bennie Dover has many opportunities for any student willing to apply themselves. We have a Jeopardy club which focuses on broadening the knowledge of any student willing to spend an hour after school. This group also competes against the other schools in the Groton, and last year won the tournament. We also have a brilliant Enrichment program led by an excellent teacher. I find the quality of the teachers extremely high. The class sizes are low with under 20 for the most part.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2006

My name is naomi and I think bdjms is a good middle school. I dont think that just because I went there. I think this because the teachers are hard on you but they only do this because they care
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 25, 2005

I dont care who says that Bennie Dover is bad..I had a great 3 years year and really its not that bad yes we do have kids that dont have respect..but were kids and were not from the up town kids that have millions of dollars..so what if we sometimes walk all over the teachers every body does and Im not talking about our school..But anyways Ive had my good years even though I know I gave the Teachers,Dean,Students,B.Lo a hard time but who cares im out of here I want to say thanks to all my favorite teachers..Mr.Nelson, Mrs.Williams, and Mr.Richardson..Thanks guys I had a great 3 years.. Symone class of 2005
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 23, 2004

This school is great. I had some of my best years here. I loved my teachers. They taught me well. I loved Mr.Martin, Mr.Richardson, Mrs.Banks and all my other teachers. Whoever talks bad about this school needs a reality check. Not everyone in this school is so bad. It's the kids who don't respect their school. I'm doing great. I go to Grasso Tech and I'm in IST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

overall the teachers are okay. what i worry about is the discipline in the classroom,it's horrible. my son comes home and tells me horror stories about the kids in his class running all over the teachers. he is a minority in his school, and has been on the receiving end of racial comments. my son is dyslexic,has adhd, and has a visual perception problem. we have been fighting the school system ever since he was in the 4th grade to get him the individual help he needs. we have gotten the run around, and have even been told that the school can't afford to test my son for dyslexia. Having moved from the south, i have found that the schools in new london lack a great deal of things.i guess it all boils down to money, which new london schools don't have any of. be prepared to fight!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

I have found that the very few teachers that will help are in the minority and by the looks of the national average, our students don't have a chance for further education. My daughter's education is being way laid and no one seems to care. I am trying to change schools but with no help from the faculty. Being patronized is not helping my child in her education. I will strive to do what I can to teach my child at home, because her learning at this facility is not happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

My best years of schooling were here! Everyone is always really friendly and if you need help with something there is always someone to see.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
Black62%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learners26%
Proficient in English73%

Reading

All Students62%
Female65%
Male59%
Black59%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English69%

Writing

All Students71%
Female81%
Male61%
Black74%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female57%
Male62%
Black60%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities64%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English65%

Reading

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
Black64%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English72%

Writing

All Students72%
Female89%
Male55%
Black70%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities80%
English language learners56%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female65%
Male58%
Black57%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English70%

Reading

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Black69%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students53%
Female53%
Male54%
Black52%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities60%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English62%

Writing

All Students78%
Female82%
Male75%
Black77%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 20%
Black 30% 13%
White 14% 61%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

36 Waller St
New London, CT 06320
Phone: (860) 447-6480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Joseph School
New London, CT


Williams School
New London, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT