Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
New London, CT
Students enrolled: 571
 

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 2

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
I am a student at BDJMS. I am in the STEM program. Overall, the school is great. My STEM teachers are REALLY nice. There are a lot of opportunities for the STEM kids. However, the school needs some work. There are not a lot of electives. There should be things like Woodshop. The students are out of control. There is not a lot of discipline when people are being bullied. I also think that we should have more field trips and more oppertunities for the non STEM kids. For example only STEM students got to go to Rhode Island for the sail boat race. There also should be more pep rallies and fun activities for students. Also us students shouldn't have to pay to attend dances or get a yearbook. Overall BDJMS is a good school but if improvements were made, it would be worth five stars.

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 1

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
From the New London District plan, published in the 2012-2013 year. These numbers do not lie. There is a serious problem with the leadership ruining this once adequate school: High Staff Absenteeism & Turnover contributes to inconsistency of instruction. o 20% of teachers had more than 10 absences; 67% of teachers had 5 or more absences o 43% of the staff is new to the building since Jan. 2010. (22/51 teachers)


Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 1

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
All locals gave this school bad reviews but unfortunately since its the only non-lottery middle school in New London, my child had to attend here. The staff (except for the secretary) are all rude. The principal and teachers and guidance counselor have no patience, training or compassion towards kids with learning disabilities. When I addressed a bullying issue to the guidance counselor, he just strongly suggested that my child was just depressed! Ask the locals, there is definitely a reason why everyone dreads having their child attend this school.

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 1

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
This school is volatile. The reputation of this sub-par school is well known in SouthEastern CT, which unfortunately discourages teachers from applying. New London had to host a special job fair in order to lure teachers in to this school. There has been such a massive exodus of teachers (and education-minded families) over the past three years, that the core of Bennie Dover is no longer recognizable. The music program, in particular, has floundered, having lost their excellent band director of a couple of years ago. While the administration spreads untruths about only incompetent teachers leaving, it is a fact that even the new, excellent teachers are leaving - some of them excellent, male role models. Police were finally brought in because of the dangerous atmosphere and that seems to have helped, but what kind of environment is that for kids to learn in? A rumor that the former vice-principal will return as principal from the high school in 2013-2014 (and the current principal finally demoted to a less challenging grammar school) give some hope to the return of competent leadership. One can only hope that the new Board of Ed, although mostly uneducated, can help.

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 4

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
Bennie Dover is improving everyday. As the parent of three children (two have since moved on to the high school, one is still in the school now), AND a teacher in a neighboring district, I have been very focused and aware of my childrens' education. There was a point a few years ago where I had some concerns over behavior and administration. It seemed like expectations were set low enough for everyone to achieve an A (way too easy). In the past 3 or 4 years, there have been massive changes in accountability. The staff have gone through extensive training in more effective methods, and the student behavior is no where near the reputation that some other reviewers have mentioned. Not quite a 5 yet, as there are still areas of improvement (such as consistent discipling, availability of special education and other aids/support staff, and availability of technology and assistive technologies). They are now piloting an extended day program to help make up for language or learning deficits - very promising! Looking forward to next year!


Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 1

Posted September 21, 2011
- a parent
It is not organized. There is no dicsipline. The teachers are always looking over there shoulder at the principle and vice principle. and I heard that it used to be better a few years ago. Should have listened to people who said to not move to New London unless you can afford the catholic schools or can get lucky with the lottery in the magnet schools. The local newspaper does not cover what actually happens in the school. You have to hear it from your kid or from other parents.

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 1

Posted May 21, 2011
- a parent
Good teachers, bad students, incompetent Administration. This is a dangerous place for small children who cannot defend themselves.

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School
no rating

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
I think this is an overall great school, it just needs a little work and the behavior can be a little better as the enviorment.


Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a student
I am a student at bennie dover jackson middle school. I think this school is great. Some parents think that bdjms is a bad school but to tell you the truth its a very good school.

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School 4

Posted May 17, 2007
- a student
Hello I am a student of BDJMS. I would like to point out several things about my school. Bennie Dover has many opportunities for any student willing to apply themselves. We have a Jeopardy club which focuses on broadening the knowledge of any student willing to spend an hour after school. This group also competes against the other schools in the Groton, and last year won the tournament. We also have a brilliant Enrichment program led by an excellent teacher. I find the quality of the teachers extremely high. The class sizes are low with under 20 for the most part.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School
36 Waller St, New London, CT  06320
(860) 447-6480
Last modified Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top