Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Milford High School

Public | 9-12 | 1510 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2011

This school is a excellent school. After sending my daughter to the local Catholic high school in Danbury we really learned to appreciate the value of a good education in a public school system. Anyone who complains about this school should try the local Catholic High School and you will learn to appreciate how good this school really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

SInce I graduated from NM over 30 years ago the town has built a new building and added numerous high level courses for those that excel. They have a band that has marched and competed world wide and numerous clubs, organizations and sports teams.Some of the teachers that I had are still there! The quality of education delivered by the teachers to their students is high quality. I have been happy with the education that my son has received and is currently receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My granddaughter attends NMHS. The academics, sports and extra activities are very condusive to preparing for college studies.


Posted September 17, 2009

4 of my children have reaped the educational benefits of New Milford High School. I feel that NMHS is an encouraging environment for learning and the students are more than prepared to move on to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Very organized, there are many activites for the kids to partake in and they have good scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My Grandson is not only very happy going to New Milford High, but he loves his fellow students and his teachers. He is learning like never before which is all to the credit of his teachers and the comfortable school environment !!! Keep up the excellent work New Milford High !!!!!!!


Posted September 16, 2009

I am very pleased with the education my daughter is receiving at New Milford High School. The sports programs are great too and the marching band is awesome! Way to go Green Wave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

This school has very nice and col teachers! I highly recomend taking your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Great group of teachers at NMHS. There are many activities available, clubs, and civic opportunities. My two children have been very happy here and were competitively prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2006

*IMPORTANT*-There is no pay to play sports at nmhs as of 2006-07 school year! This recently constructed school provides great teachers, many clubs, and sports. Academic assistance is available. This school system make sure the staff members are experienced, professional, motivated, intersted, and highly passionate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2006

Home economics, Latin, auto shop, electronics and a number of other courses have all been dropped. Sports now operate on a 'pay-to-participate' basis. There is no longer a summer school. Class sizes have ballooned. Despite all this, the teachers, administration and kids soldier on. It's a good school. It's just in a lousy town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

New Milford High School is accomodating for all types of students. The school provides students with ample opportunity to take their education to any level. The school certainly helps challenge more gifted students, as well as those looking to an option other can college. I know many students in the top 10% of my graduating class went on to Ivy League schools, along with other prestigious schools such as Duke, Notre Dame, RPI, and MIT. I was also in the top 10% of my class, had a 1350 SAT, and am currently a student at Clemson University, with half of my tuition paid in academic scholarships. New Milford is a safe, fun, and great place for a kid to get an education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2005

3 of my daughters graduated from New Milford High. All 3 are currently in college. One will graduate in May with a double major in Biology and Chemistry. She will be attending medical school. The other 2 are sophmores. One is at Georgia Tech majoring in engineering and the other is an accounting major. The high school prepared them well and offered every opportunity they needed. After school activities are readily available to those interested. The teachers, coaches in sports and after school programs are all wonderful. The only downside to the school was the lack of involved parents. There is a core group who attend everything and volunteer for everything. They sure could use more hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

When I attended NMHS I felt stupid and inferior. By both the teachers and students. Yes there were great teachers but then there were the others who if you asked them a question or you just didnt get something they would make you feel really stupid.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 17, 2004

The teachers & administration are a committed bunch of people who had the best interests of the students in mind. Class sizes were on the larger side, even in honors tracks, but teachers were always willing to find time for extra help. There are a large variety of clubs and activities to get involved in - its a good public school to go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

When I went to school in the 80's the principal was a two faced fink. He would say one thing at one time and another thing at a different time. As an example he said that he always supported Junior Achievement, while only months before he thought it should be shut down.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

365 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

364 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

371 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

370 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female63%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%

Reading

All Students49%
Female53%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%

Science

All Students60%
Female58%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%

Writing

All Students75%
Female81%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 62%
Hispanic 6% 19%
Asian 4% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

388 Danbury Rd
New Milford, CT 06776
Phone: (860) 350-6647

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Academy
New Milford, CT


Faith Academy
New Milford, CT




Brookfield High School
Brookfield, CT


Canterbury School
New Milford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT