Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 110 students

Our school is best known for excellent academics in a close, caring communinity

 
 

Living in Newington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $188,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

This is the 1st year my children have attended this school and they love it. There is a good mix of teachers younger and more experienced and I feel that they are all very commited to providing the children with the best possible education that they can. Class size is small and there is a great sense of community and family. I also love the fact that prayer and faith is a part of their every day routine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

We love St. Mary's School! The teachers and staff are great. The teachers care a lot about their students and keep parents in the loop on everything. The school as a whole does a lot to get parents involved and to join in as part of the school family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St Mary School in Newington, CT is a wonderful faith based school with qualified teachers and excellent staff. Our community is small but that lends itself to greater attention from the teachers. We offer a curriculum based education that is wrapped in kindness to others including but not limited to each other, the community, and people who are less fortunate. Our graduates are well prepared for high school and score high in all standardized tests. Our 8th graders attend Catholic, private as well as public schools. Our school could improve with an endowment that would allow for upgrades to our building itself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

A wonderful learning environment with top faculty and staff. The small class sizes give students the ability to have individual attention of the teacher. Any concerns are addressed immediately and the front staff is most accommodating to requests. School feels like a big family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I have been associated with Saint Mary School, Newington, since 1991 when my first child began in the Pre-K program. In 1994, I began teaching here and remained after my children graduated from SMS. In 2010, I am proud to say, I accepted the position as principal. One cannot devote that much time to a school unless it is VERY SPECIAL, and that is just what SMS is! With the highest caliber of state-certified teachers who either have advanced degrees or are working towards that goal, our students receive an outstanding academic education that is infused with Christian values. This is offered in a safe, nurturing, family environment. Upon graduation, our students do well in whatever high school they attend, be it public, private or parochial.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

A small but wonderful school! Friendly teachers and staff who really care about students and help in the development of the whole child. Highly recommend for their academic programs and strong Catholic values. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Mary School is a wonderful school that has caring teachers. The teachers differentiate their instruction so that all children learn to the best of their ability. We have small, friendly classes. We trully feel like a family here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

Great school. My daughters go here. Friendly, disciplined and family like environment. My daughters love their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My son is in K this year and was in PreK the past 2 years. He's the one who begged to go to this school. He absolutely loves his teachers and knows how to read at 1st grade level. We all help each other at some point and we're kind of like a big family. I love this school and we're staying here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This is our first year here and my children love, love it!!! My daughter can't wait to get up in the morning to attend school and my son has made some really great friends. They are doing both very well in their academics and social skills. One of the very few schools that I can honestly say that there is no tolerance for bullying. An admirable staff is responsible for the the best of students, learning in a respectful Christian and well-disciplined environment makes for the perfect balance here at St. Mary School. My kids are spoiled with love, friends, structure, all while learning in a safe and positive family environment. Thank you St. Mary school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

St. Mary School is an outstanding school. I have been teaching here for 15 years and love how everyone there is a part of a community and treats each other like family. I am proud of the students I have taught and seen them grow into Christian leaders who know the right way to treat each other. Our academics are second to none as we have had many go on to win scholarships to Catholic high schools. If you want a first rate education for your child in a caring and nurturing environment, St. Mary School should be your choice.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter's school is amazing for a Catholic School. Her teacher is wonderful. St. Mary's School in Newington is top notch and would recommend anyone bringing their kids here whether they are affiliated with a catholic church or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Our children have grown up in this school and developed friendships and mentorships that will last a lifetime. The school is really a family environment
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2013

We love Saint Mary's. This is our second year here and I could not imagine a more supportive staff and administration. My child loves to go to school and even when she is sick she asks to go and you can not find that in many places. I remember when looking for a school for my daughter, Mrs. McDonald saying "St. Mary is a community and you will feel like a part of this community when you are here". I can honestly say she was right! I do feel part of the St. Mary's community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

ST. Mary School, Newington, CT is the place to be - - for Christian influence in your life AND learning. Students are the best and continue on to High School peforming at levels well above grade level . Each day new ideas blossom and converted to learning experiences.


Posted August 7, 2012

My grandson has attended St. Mary School for the past 4 years. We are most impressed with the leadership of teachers, administrators, and Fr. Joe. As I retired from a public school district I have keenly observed the students of St. Mary and feel St. Mary offers an education second-to-none.


Posted August 11, 2010

Saint Mary School is simply the best education you can get for your child in Newington. Small classes, individualized instruction, lots of extracurricular activities, all in a safe, caring environment. We're very happy with our decision to enroll our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

Amazing school, wondeful teachers/staff and the best community to surround your children with. Their Pre-K program is amazing and I am so impressed with how all the K-8yrs old teachers know my daughters' names that I am strongly considering continuing their education at St. Mary's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

Excellent school!! Great academics. Ahead of public schools in most areas. Teachers care about the children and parents are friendly and positive. I felt my children were safe there. Excellent preparation for High school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

so much better than corpus christi! they actually give your child personal attention!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 61%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Black 9% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:35 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses for Newington students
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

652 Willard Avenue
Newington, CT 06111
Phone: (860) 666-3844

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Anna Reynolds School
Newington, CT


Ruth Chaffee School
Newington, CT



Soundbridge
Wethersfield, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT