Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
110 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This is the 1st year my children have attended this school and they love it. There is a good mix of teachers younger and more experienced and I feel that they are all very commited to providing the children with the best possible education that they can. Class size is small and there is a great sense of community and family. I also love the fact that prayer and faith is a part of their every day routine.

St. Mary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
We love St. Mary's School! The teachers and staff are great. The teachers care a lot about their students and keep parents in the loop on everything. The school as a whole does a lot to get parents involved and to join in as part of the school family.


St. Mary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
St Mary School in Newington, CT is a wonderful faith based school with qualified teachers and excellent staff. Our community is small but that lends itself to greater attention from the teachers. We offer a curriculum based education that is wrapped in kindness to others including but not limited to each other, the community, and people who are less fortunate. Our graduates are well prepared for high school and score high in all standardized tests. Our 8th graders attend Catholic, private as well as public schools. Our school could improve with an endowment that would allow for upgrades to our building itself.

St. Mary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
A wonderful learning environment with top faculty and staff. The small class sizes give students the ability to have individual attention of the teacher. Any concerns are addressed immediately and the front staff is most accommodating to requests. School feels like a big family!

St. Mary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
I have been associated with Saint Mary School, Newington, since 1991 when my first child began in the Pre-K program. In 1994, I began teaching here and remained after my children graduated from SMS. In 2010, I am proud to say, I accepted the position as principal. One cannot devote that much time to a school unless it is VERY SPECIAL, and that is just what SMS is! With the highest caliber of state-certified teachers who either have advanced degrees or are working towards that goal, our students receive an outstanding academic education that is infused with Christian values. This is offered in a safe, nurturing, family environment. Upon graduation, our students do well in whatever high school they attend, be it public, private or parochial.


St. Mary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
A small but wonderful school! Friendly teachers and staff who really care about students and help in the development of the whole child. Highly recommend for their academic programs and strong Catholic values. A+

St. Mary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
St. Mary School is a wonderful school that has caring teachers. The teachers differentiate their instruction so that all children learn to the best of their ability. We have small, friendly classes. We trully feel like a family here.

St. Mary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Great school. My daughters go here. Friendly, disciplined and family like environment. My daughters love their teachers.


St. Mary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My son is in K this year and was in PreK the past 2 years. He's the one who begged to go to this school. He absolutely loves his teachers and knows how to read at 1st grade level. We all help each other at some point and we're kind of like a big family. I love this school and we're staying here!

St. Mary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year here and my children love, love it!!! My daughter can't wait to get up in the morning to attend school and my son has made some really great friends. They are doing both very well in their academics and social skills. One of the very few schools that I can honestly say that there is no tolerance for bullying. An admirable staff is responsible for the the best of students, learning in a respectful Christian and well-disciplined environment makes for the perfect balance here at St. Mary School. My kids are spoiled with love, friends, structure, all while learning in a safe and positive family environment. Thank you St. Mary school and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mary School
652 Willard Avenue, Newington, CT  06111
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (860) 666-3844
Last modified St. Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top