Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Wallace Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 678 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2013

Great school, amazing principle, great teachers and staff. Always there for you if you need anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

I love my school. John Wallace is the best middle school ever. I love how the teachers and staff are always nice and help when I need the help. The principal is always nice and when he walks by me he always says hi. I like how my school has a lot of materials and we get to do a lot of fun projects.


Posted January 7, 2010

i loveee this school! all the teachers are nice and the students are nie, and everyone just really gets each other. We have fun every day. %th grade was the BOMB, 6th grade was AMAZING, 7th grade was...eh. not my fav. and 8th grade is the best so far because everyone looks up to us and we have all the cool teachers like Mama Miller (yes we call her mama) who takes us out to eat or shopping, and Mr. Klatt, and Mrs. Armstrong and Mr. Salonia! Ohhh my gosh i can't even think about leaving the shcool or im going to start crying! ugh! i'm going to high school in 9 months! i really don't want to leavE! ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2009

this is an awesome school. I just graduated from JWMS today, and i know im giong to miss it! The teachers are great, caring, and they know how to have fun! i may not be a parent but as a student i can say that this school, teachers, and memories will be with me all my life. i cant think of a better school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

My 5th child entered John Wallace this year and is doing great even with his learning disabilities. The staff is very careing and understanding of his needs. The principal is outstanding and the staff is just wonderful. At my recent conference I could see in their faces how much they really liked my son and it made me feel good and safe to know he was in this school. There are so many field trips and fun things to do there. His 5th grade teacher kept the whole class after school for a pizza party and movie before their dance at the Talent Show. I still can't believe that! What dedication! I highly recommend the Newington School System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

Ummm... I am not a parent or anything but i go to this school. I love it hear and feel extremlly safe. They have tons of cool feild trips and manuy activities your child can get into. I know it is Winter vaca but I can't wait to go back. We have really nice teachers and a very cool principal. As a 7th grader we go on a trip called the Williamsburg trip where we go on a trip away from our parents for 5 days and go to these cool places like Gettisburg and Washington DC. We stay at hotels but if you wish not to send your child on this trip then they have day trips here in CT where they go to places to. It is supposedly really fun and my 8th grade and high school friends say they really enjoyed it. It really is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

This school is the best school that I have ever gone to. All of the teachers are great, and I could tell that they really care about the students as people, and try there bests to help us succeed. These teachers are strict, but not too strict. They are just tough enough to keep us going on the right paths. I would not want to go to any other Middle School. I love JWMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2007

I think that this school is very good with my daughter! They have a lot to offer to kids.they have spcial reading group for kids, I have been very please with this school. good luck! thank you very much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

I would just want to say that this school has a lot to offer. It has a great music program and every kid dreams of being in showchoir in 8th grade which sings and dances to popular songs...the bands, other choirs, and orchestras are good too...the teachers are good and are veterans who have taught for years...great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2005

This is my first year here,but it's great! They have exellent chefs. Awesome teachers. And great speical activites. Art, Music P.E. and Media are great too! I'm a sports lover so P.E. is the best.The teachers for P.E (or Gym) are exellent! I have Mr. Markie. He does fun drills with us. For art I have Mr. Gellwiler. I had in Chaffee. He knows alot about art! For music I have Mr. Begin. He great! He's funny, fun and nice at the same time. Mrs. Fanshenchelli is my Libray teacher. She's nice and a great reader. Mrs. Darter is my CPU teacher. She can type. Wow! My omeroom teacher, Miss Agana. She probably is my favorite teacher. She's really nice. She's also a great teacher. She makes everything fun. She has the best books to read for us. She's athletic so she sometimes plays with us at recess. Great School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2004

Hey! umm... Im not a parent or nothing but im a student of john wallace middle school and i would just like to tell you that this school is really very safe and you dont need to worry about your kids getting bulleyed or anything because we dont really have any problems with bulleying and a couple of kids that do have a special program to help them. I think the teachers are really nice and they're the best teachers anyone could ever have. They teach you lots of stuff and its all in a fun way not like 'you have to memorize this or you get a detention!' i love this school. Im in 8th grade right now and i don't feel like going to high school because this school is just awesome! there are lots of really cool and educational feild trips too. Thats all. Sania ahmad! =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2004

Hi. I'm not a parent, but I do attend John Wallace Middle School right now. This school is wonderful! If you are worried about your 5th grader being mixed in with the older kids you're in luck because the 5th graders have their own separate wing from the older children. Wallace also has many activities to keep your children going. We have tons of different clubs and we have 4 different bands, 2 different orchestras, and 6 different choirs. Our school is also very very very very safe. Just this summer they installed security cameras at the front doors and TV's in the office. We also keep all the doors locked outside the school. The teachers at John Wallace Middle School are the best you'll ever get. I don't know one teacher that's mean here. Current Student, Natalie Battistone
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic87%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian American90%
Hispanic73%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students90%
Female86%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Writing

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Writing

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian American86%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%

Reading

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Writing

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%

Writing

All Students96%
Female99%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 61%
Hispanic 15% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

71 Halleran Dr
Newington, CT 06111
Phone: (860) 667-5888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Roosevelt Middle School
New Britain, CT


St. Mary School
Newington, CT



St. Joseph School
New Britain, CT


St. Joseph School
New Britain, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT