Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted January 13, 2013
- a community member
I LOVE REED!!!!! I'm a 6th grade student currently at Reed, and I think it's the nicest, cleanest, school in the town! I got nice teachers, I made great friends, I go to fun specials (including learning to play an instument! I picked the trombone), And everyone is so nice! I wish it was more than 2 years. I don't want to go to middle school! :-)

Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted August 10, 2011
- a community member
reed is a really, REALLY great school. i'm a former student and I cant even describe how much i loved it here. the building is really nice and CLEAN, the teachers are willing to help with things the student needs, it offers a really good education (i learned a lot here), the staff is friendly, and there are a ton of activities and clubs students can participate in. Loved this school!!!


Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
What an amazing school!! I am currently a sixth grade student at Reed, and in my two years there, I met friends I'll keep for life and teachers I'll always be thankful that I had. Reed is a very welcoming school and although it's big, it's fun. However, there is drama that goes on there and a lot of kids, so if your children would do better in a private school, I'd send them there. I'm going to a private school next year due to the amount of students in public school, but I must admit that Reed is top notch for what it is. Academically, students tend to do very well, and the school has a ton to offer. The teachers are awesome, the food is great, and the environment is SAFE. I'd recommended this school to anybody, unless their children do better in smaller places. Other than that, it's great! I love you, RIS! <3

Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding experiences for both of my children, each with different strengths and needs.

Reed Intermediate School
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
So far, we are very impressed. We moved to Newtown for the schools, and we have not been dissappointed. Fabulous!


Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted August 10, 2008
- a parent
My third child is currently in The Reed School. It is the Best School in Newtown. Bernson/Tischio are the best, most caring teachers. The student involvement in activities is fantastic. Other prinicpals in Newtown should be trying to emmulate this in house model.

Reed Intermediate School
no rating

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
The faculty has been exceptional. Our son is a special needs child and he's been helped considerably this year by his teachers, Mrs. Lane and Mrs. McCabe. Ms. Welton, his counselor has also been instrumental in helping him the last two years. RIS has an excellent music dept, they offer after school activities, and they care about these children. We've been very blessed to have this school for our child.

Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted August 23, 2006
- a parent
My third and last child is going through Reed Intermediate. It is an excellent school and I have been pleased with every teacher. The communication with me has been prompt and I have been included in all aspects of my children's learning. I do not know what the circumstances were from a prior negative review on this school, but can say that one of my children required extra attention and I was very pleased with the help that was given to her from the guidance counselor and teachers involved with helping in her educational development. I highly recommend this school and all of the teachers are professional, friendly and I have been very pleased with the Reed faculty.


Reed Intermediate School 5

Posted August 16, 2006
- a parent
Coming from Trumbull Public Schools 1 year ago, I must say that the 5-6 RIS School is top notch! The teachers are highly educated and work very hard to bring out the best in a child. The prinicpal and vice-principal know my son by name. In today's society it is hard as a child to grow up. However, at Reed the teachers, counselors, vice principal and principal all get involved with positive interactions. Thanks for bringing out the best in my child! Encouragement and confidence he will have when he reaches Middle and High School!

Nearby schools

Reed Intermediate School
3 Trades Ln, Newtown, CT  06470
(203) 270-4880
Last modified Reed Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6
Top