Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middle Gate Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 480 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

We are extremely focused on education and were thinking of private school for our children. We thought we would "try out" Middle Gate first. We have been thoroughly impressed! The teachers are outstanding, the parents are involved, and our children love it. Our first grader is about a full grade ahead in reading, and he is not even the strongest reader in his class! The academics in this school are great. The class sizes are wonderful. The teachers are smart. The parents are fun, and are dedicated. The learning environment is great. I highly recommend this school, and I am very picky!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

I'm giving this school an average score. I realize it's been 31 years but the memory still lingers. On average Mrs. Allen was a good teacher but one day out of many where she didn't citicize, she singled me out. She said to the class a few days before, if anyone is talking and disturbing your studies then tell me. I did just that and she told me to stand in front of her, in front of the class when she said, "Tattle tale!!!""Children, this is a tattle tale, get a good look at him!" I felt horrible which may have lent itself to my mental illnesses later in life. Not all good things are said about teachers. If that were true, we all would be giving 5 stars to everybody. The name is important and God Bless You Mrs. Allen because I forgive you.


Posted May 6, 2010

Teachers really care; learning environment is open and children who have special needs are given lots of opportunties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

The principal (Judy) is a wonderful person and leader. A very progressive school - forward thinking.


Posted January 2, 2009

My kids learn a lot from this school. They have alot of nice teachers like the music and art teachers. I'm glad my children like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

Two of my children graduated from Middlegate. I was very pleased with the academic focus of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

While there may be helpful faculty at this school, there are also problems with the guidance dept. The good teachers seem to leave there in droves. Wonder why?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female86%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Writing

All Students84%
Female91%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Reading

All Students83%
Female82%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Writing

All Students88%
Female89%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 62%
Asian 4% 4%
Hispanic 3% 19%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7 Cold Spring Rd
Newtown, CT 06470
Phone: (203) 426-7662

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT