Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Newtown, CT
Students enrolled: 871
 

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Newtown Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter has had nothing but a positive experience a NMS. The core teachers have been demanding and excellent. The rotations have been educational yet "fun". Yes, the building needs renovation but that is secondary to education.

Newtown Middle School 3

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
Just by reading the reviews, it seems that Newtown Middle School is not teaching its students to write! This town is filled with people defending its mediocre schools.


Newtown Middle School 1

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
NMS was horrfic for our children. In fact, the teachers were so intollerant we decided to move out of newtown alltogether. The teachers are narrow minded and exceedingly rigid, perhaps they were bankers in their former lives. if your student has a teacher who is not willing to accept a out of the box thinker or a "NON COOKIE CUTTER KID" get your child out of that class immediately. Newtown Middle School tolerates it's own intolerance. Not all children are the same. Don't buytheir political lip service. These people are false.

Newtown Middle School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are just amazing!!!

Newtown Middle School 5

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
This school is great! The teachers are only the best, and the school has new supplies. (Including a fittness center that has over 20 machines available for use by the students.)


Newtown Middle School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
My child is doing so well thanks to the great teachers and the emotional support that she gets in this school. Her grades have improved so much this year. Even though the school is not modern like Reed, the core values and the emphasis on kindness over competitiveness make it stand out as a happy, safe environment.

Newtown Middle School
no rating

Posted February 16, 2009
- a parent
I love this school it is amazing and exremely beautiful and full of love and great education.

Newtown Middle School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2008
- a student
NMS is a wonderful place to be all the teachers are so nice and i learn something new everyday. I love the school and feel like there doing a great job by preparing us for the High School. My only complaint would be that the luch could use a total Makeover and to my understanding there doing the best of there ability to fix that problem. To me the real thing is that there do a great job providing a safe envirment for kids to learn in and thats what really matters.


Newtown Middle School 1

Posted June 18, 2008
- a parent
The school is literally falling apart and the students lack proper education.

Newtown Middle School 2

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
I think NMS needs tremendous improvement. The teachers are completely apathetic. There are hardly any extra-curricular activities and there isn't even a school paper. The principal is completely out of touch and doesn't respond to parents. Communication to parents is extremely poor. My children used to enjoy school and participate in many activities at Reed, but now they just want to get home asap. The building is deteriorating and the facilities are old and outdated. The music program is a joke.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newtown Middle School
11 Queen St, Newtown, CT  06471
(203) 426-7638
Last modified Newtown Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8
Newtown Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top