Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Lyme Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
Children should be allowed to be children, i.e., play, socialize, join clubs/sports and activities. The amount of homework for the four major subjects each night is too much. Kids do not have time to be kids, nor spend quality time with their family.

East Lyme Middle School 5

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
I am on my third child attending ELMS and have had only the best experiences. The staff is very fair to all students.


East Lyme Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
My 6th grader (new student) started apprehensive but in a week, he has flourished to be open, positive and loving towards his school. The leadership makes it a priority to be involved with the students, which shows me their dedication. The encouragement my student gets to aim high is subtle but strong and the outcome is a positive one. I am glad I made the decision to be part of this community.

East Lyme Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
East Lyme middle school is one of the best schools for good education. The teachers are very welcoming, friendly and show interest on students inquisitiveness.

East Lyme Middle School 4

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
East Lyme Middle School is an above average school. They have won many awards including CAS Middle School of the Year in 2012. ELMS uses a unique Kiva system which has pros and cons. It also helps by making the school of 900 students feel slightly smaller which is good for newcomers. ELMS serves grades 5-8 and is very good about Life Arts. Unlike other schools you have a full range of 'specials' from Tech Ed to Band to Orchestra to Life Skills. The teachers are very well selected and are perfect. I rate this school 4 stars for great classes, excellent teachers. I have removed one star because the kivas can be restricting when your child is limited to seeing friends from other kivas. In addition, the principle is not the best. She can be overly strict and moody.


East Lyme Middle School 4

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
This school is the best one I've attended so far. I love the Kiva structure and I think most teachers are spectacular. However, I think there should be more options for children who are able to go to a more advanced class, as I find that many kids (including myself) are often bored. They do a great job with kids who are struggling academically, though.

East Lyme Middle School 1

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
The staff and teachers at this school and Niantic Center are so coldhearted. They seemed so careless when I was going and didn't seem that interested in the students education

East Lyme Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a community member
I find East Lyme Middle School to be a terrific school. In my opinion the Kiva system works very well to make each student part of a manageable group. As far as I have experienced the teachers are diligent and responsive. Mr. Bitgood is super! Our student is enjoying his middle school years.


East Lyme Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
I love East Lyme Middle School, they make learning so much fun! The teachers are so nice. I made friends for life!!! The teachers will push you hard but it will be worth it! East Lyme middle school is also a beautiful building and a national blue ribbon school.

East Lyme Middle School 4

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
ELMS is a beautiful school based on a Kiva design which may not serve the children well when transitioning over to the high school. More importantly the administration is more concerned with cancelling halloween and school trips and enforcing dress codes instead of focusing on strengthening a very poor spanish program. At a time when the spanish language is dominant our children are just starting to learn colors and numbers in spanish and it doesnt improve much at the high school level either. There are a few great teachers which stand out and they are great resources. Overall it is a great school but again at the time of 'press 2 for spanish' our middle school needs to step up the program, and worry less about doing away with halloween parties and school trips.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Lyme Middle School
31 Society Rd, Niantic, CT  06357
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (860) 739-4491
Last modified East Lyme Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top