Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Niantic Center School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

This is an amazing school with teachers that will always go the extra mile to ensure that the students get the best education possible!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Thank god someone finally put it out there about this school, and by a teacher no less!!! Read Teacher/Staff for the comments posted. Bullying is a problem in this school!! I agree that the principle is not working out like we hoped. My friends are parents of children that go to this school as do mine and we are SHOCKED by the way bullying is NOT being handled. When my child stood up to a bully, my child was punished. Can you believe such a thing. But at least my child protects themselves even if the principle doesn't. Recess is scary because the aides sit around and the kids are at the mercy of the bullies and nothing is being done to rectify this situation. Superintendent and Board of Ed, please step up to the plate and correct this before it gets worse. Our children are precious and deserve to go to school in an environment that is nurturing, not abusive!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

This really is the best school ever and we've been through s few, so we should know. Very lucky to be able to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

My daughter attends this school, and she loves it! She has ADD and they've worked with both of us so much. She's gone to school in Virginia and in Pennsylvania, and she's never loved those schools as much as this one. This is where we're going to stay. Mr. Discordia is an excellent teacher, the principal is fantastic (but she's leaving at the beginning of the year BOO) and the staff is always friendly and helpful. I just can't recommend this school highly enough. They're really just very awesome. The class sizes are small (especially compared to where I'm from) and each class apparently has a teacher's assistant - 2 teachers, basically. For about 16 students. I am gushing, but really, I <3 this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

This is an amazing schoool! the benefits my daughter has received from attending this school are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

In response to the Feb 2005 post about testing: my son was given a complete psychological workup (testing for IQ, disabilities, etc) when he was in the 1st grade. ALL of it was paid for by the school. They were more than thorough in explaining everything to me and working with me, and making me feel at ease. Furthermore, it was their recommendation for the testing...not mine. The principal did not hold back on anything because of funding. She was actually very accomodating. My children were in this school for 2 years, and academically, it is one of the best...especially for children with learning disabilities and other special needs. Their Speech Pathologist is awesome! However, most of the teachers that we encountered are very snobbish; they are caddy and condescending towards the parents, and the principal does nothing about that. However, the PTA is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

IMO[In my opinion], when a parent seeks intervention for their child, specifically, the principal is more interested in saving money, test score #'s, and avoiding the responsibility of the school to provide an equal opportunity education. She is unable to promote an atmosphere for the parent to work effectively with the teachers as a team, rather, using scare tactics, or condescending attitudes towards both. As a parent to other parents I would suggest strongly to advocate for your child by knowing your child's rights to receive a free public education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%

Reading

All Students73%
Femalen/a
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Writing

All Students85%
Femalen/a
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Femalen/a
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students96%
Femalen/a
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%

Writing

All Students98%
Femalen/a
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 61%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7 West Main St
Niantic, CT 06357
Phone: (860) 739-3961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Flanders School
East Lyme, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT