Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Green Acres Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Great principal and support staff and teaches. The PTA is a little overbearing and tries to have a bit too much influence.

Green Acres Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to the secretary Gail. She makes every child feel welcome! I think we all can agree she makes green acres a warm and wonderful place


Green Acres Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
The school makes it very obvious they treat their id children differently than contemporary. We ares unsure why with the world going in the university direction of common core curriculum. It just seems like they offer more to those children when it's a program not based on educational merit just lottery, unlike other magnet or id schools. In the end id goes away after fifth grade so what's the point? Treat the kids fair and families and you may find a strong academic backing to the reputation. The world is changing so the schools should embrace the fact they are needing to as well.

Green Acres Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
If you can't control your classroom and or students and rely on other teachers to explain how then you shouldn't be teaching. Teaching takes patience, compassion, understanding and grit. Don't try to educate parents on why you are right in your assumptions...educate yourself on dealing with the variables within families.

Green Acres Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
To date our kids have had zero homework. Seems like kids not in id are not pushed to succeed. No assignments at all.


Green Acres Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
No idea. We haven't meet or hear from anyone yet. Hopefully at open house they will give insight into their methodology

Green Acres Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
If the teachers can show less respect for parents in front of their students then demand respect of parents...what kind of example does that send to our children? I'm still weighing this school against ridge road. Something isn't right.

Green Acres Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
We have yet to meet anyone at the school and it's been over a month. Know nothing about the curriculum


Green Acres Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
I've had encounters where teachers didn't seem to know the appellate way to handle children new to school environment. The music lesson teacherthinks she's in the military. It's no wonder montowese had her go but the way she speaks to kids almost in middle school (like peers) is just odd. My daughter compares her to army personnel. We don't need drill sargents, we need educators. Relax!

Green Acres Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful teachers, involves the whole community

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Acres Elementary School
146 Upper State St, North Haven, CT  06473
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (203) 239-5387
Last modified Green Acres Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top