Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Windham School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
No, but I would like to say this district needs to get it together. They are ranked so POORLY in this state and I am fed up with my child hating school because she is bullied and made to feel inferior. WHY is my child getting A's and B's in this school, yet scored so poorly on the state testing last year? That tells me they just push students through, whether or not they truly deserve the grades! This is unacceptable. As a Title 1, under performing school, they are bound by federal funding to improve, yet it is not happening! Extremely frustrated and want my child OUT OF THIS DISTRICT!

North Windham School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This school expects students that are only 9 or 10 years old to speak up and ask for help. These are little kids! They are not effective in identifying kids who are struggling academically or socially and dealing with it!


North Windham School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Homework is sent home with little instruction. Common core math is not they way most of the parents in this school learned yet they send students home who clearly don't understand and expect parents to be the teacher. "she hasn't asked for help" they tell us, really?? she is 10! Teachers should be able to identify a struggling student and deal with it, not send it home for the parent to deal with.

North Windham School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My child previously attended a magnet school and had straight A-B's. Loved school! Now has no motivation or pride at all where school is concerned. No drive to do well.

North Windham School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
See previous comments - again, in my own experience with my own family, no -they do not teach respect towards fellow students or adults. Take a look at the Windham Middle School comments. That school is completely out of control and is a product of this school!


North Windham School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
School does a very poor job teaching such young, impressionable children anything to do with compassion, caring or empathy. Bullying and race are a big issue in this school. My child has been called "whitey" and spit on and when reported (last year) nothing was ever done.

North Windham School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This school turns a blind eye to blatant bullying by the dominant racial group (Hispanic) to minorities - in this school the minority is Caucasian. Poor job teaching diversity, tolerance and accepting racial differences among their student body and the community in general.

North Windham School 1

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is under-performing and I am desperately trying to remove my child from this school district.


North Windham School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
I am not happy with north windham school at all ,my 2 first graders are reading below level and dont feel they get the one on one they need, I have one teacher that is fighting for the one on one and seems to be getting nowhere with the school, also I signed up in Oct.2008 for the tutoring and just recently 5/09 statred thier tutoring and they will probably not finish as school is almost over, they will probably havreto go to summer school not fair to them>>> homework for first graders are sometimes 4 pages a night when can these kids just be kids 7 hours of school and another 2 hours of homework !!!!!!!!

North Windham School 1

Posted December 23, 2008
- a parent
I am not happy with north windham school at all and am currently looking to move my child out of this school. I feel they are failing my child and do not take the time to give him the extra help he needs

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Windham School
112 Jordan Ln, North Windham, CT  06256
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (860) 465-2400
Last modified North Windham School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top