Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5

We are best known for great staff and PTO.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Fox Run is a great school. We have been here for three years, and have had a very positive experience. The Principal and staff are very involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Great school for K-2nd, but the 3rd - 5th is terrible. The kids just aren't learning -everything is about the CMT's, but that's just b/c the system is broken. They have very few good teachers for 3rd-5th and it seems like that it when most people pull their kids out of FR, myself included. They have a very abusive teacher that everyone tries to avoid getting b/c her reputation proceeds her. I had heard about her from so many people before my child even had her. She has been and continues to crush young children's self esteem. So sad. Way to go, Fox Run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

I am extremely happy with Fox Run Elementary School. My 1st grader loves it, and we have been very happy with his teachers. The principal is very involved and takes the time to know all of the students. My 2nd son will be in kindergarten next year, and he can't wait!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

Wonderful school! My children love it, have been happy with all their teachers, and are learning and growing as people. The Principal is excellent, very responsive to parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

Because it does a great job in educating fine young children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

This is school is not overrated at all! I have 3 chlldren, a 2nd grader, a 5th grader and one who is now in middle school. The teachers are some of the most child centered and professional teachers around. The atmosphere is very happy, positive and welcoming. The principal and assistant principal are highly visible and put always put children first. The PTO is amazing and we couldn't be happier. I pulled my kids out of parochial school in order to send them to Fox Run School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

We believe this school is overrated. There is one 3rd grade teacher there who bullies and torments kids year after year. It is widely known and many parents ask NOT to get her. How is that acceptable? She has crushed the self-esteem of many but is allowed to continue teaching. From our experience Fox Run has it right in the B-wing (grades K-2) but the C-wing (grades 3-5) is a hot mess! Any decent rating I give goes to the B-wing. Lots of unacceptable things went on that I don't see posted here. We pulled all of our children out mid-year and have noticed that many others followed suit. Hope they work it out - it was a great school years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

Fox Run is an amazing school - the whole faculty from the Principle to the custodians really take interest in the children and their well being both academicaly and socially. We have an exceptional PTA which helps not only the children but the teacher also providing $ and support in many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Fox Run is an exceptional school - the teacher have a real personal interest in the children. My son is in 1st grade and I could not ask for a better learning enviroment - nealry all the classes have smart boards which both the kids and teachers love! The PTO is a reflection on the school as the parents want to be involved and the teachers welcome their input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Wonderful teachers, updated classrooms, computers, smart boards, and great events. Superior Parent interaction, an amazing PTO! Our son loves it! He is doing extremely well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Great experience at Fox Run. The PTO and all around parent involvement work to make Fox Run something special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

My daughter is in kindergarten and I am amazed at how awesome the school is. I was a product of catholic schools all the way through college and did not experience the types of programs available. Her teacher is excellent and the principal Al Triedel really knows how to run the place. He is fair, firm, spends the time, open door and really cares. I know it is early and time will tell but these first impressions will last a while. My wife and I have yet to say,'now why would they do xx.' BTW: My daughter loves it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

Fox Run is by far one of the best schools in Norwalk. The teachers and principal take great care in teaching our children. There are numerous activities throughout the year including the Ice Cream Social and for the parents the annual fundraiser that helps fund projects put on by the PTO. The children are allowed to express themselves allowing them to grow and develop. I have yet to encounter a problem with any of the staff at Fox Run and I have worked closely with the teachers helping with computer lab and reading groups. If more schools were like Fox Run, we as parents would feel much more confident in the education of our children. As parents we owe it to our children to stay involved in their education. Fox Run's principal stresses this at every meeting and assembly, read to your children and they will learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic82%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students57%
Female62%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic50%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%

Writing

All Students78%
Female82%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic68%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female80%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students73%
Female71%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Writing

All Students92%
Female96%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 61%
Hispanic 24% 20%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 2:50pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • James Martinez
Fax number
  • (203) 899-2864

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Parents are a large presence in the school. fox run has a strong parent teacher organization (pto). there are many parent volunteers throughout the school year.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Ponus Ridge Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

228 Fillow St
Norwalk, CT 06850
Phone: (203) 899-2860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






South School
New Canaan, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT