Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jefferson Magnet School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
Jefferson is a very diverse place that has out grown its facility but still continues to make gains and has that family atmosphere. My kids have all gone there and my youngest attends now. I never have to worry about safety or that they aren't getting everything they need to succeed in life and become very well rounded individuals. I was very proud that my son was part of the National Blue Ribbon award they received last year. They have always been looked at as a poor school but like I say they are rich in love and the thrill of teaching real life skills.

Jefferson Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
This school is a very open place where the kids are free to express themselves as long as they are being respectful. There are many adults in the building who are always ready and willing to help and listen to these young minds who have so much to share.


Jefferson Magnet School 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
Great staff and principal , very good with the students . Teaching comes first , and I can see their hard work in my daughter achievements , The students are doing a lot of reading and math , the science lab is fantastic , they learn a lot of interesting things and the art in this school makes them very creative .

Jefferson Magnet School 3

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
All teachers are great,but the principle. I had a really big safety issue with that school. The main office is on the 2 floor. So when people come in to sign in they enter and go... What if some parents have metal issues and have guns.. And unfortunately there is no solution to that problem. The principal never return calls very rude , even though he might seem very nice and polite at first.

Jefferson Magnet School 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
My friends kids are studying here will say good and excellent in teaching and programs nice to hear and i am also going to put my kid here thanks to all


Jefferson Magnet School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
I think this is a great school. My daughter is in second grade and she is really good in reading. She has improved a lot! The principal, staff and teacher very qualified.

Jefferson Magnet School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a community member
Great school went there for 3rd/4th . Mr .Reynolds was always great. So much field trips. I cried that i wasnt there for 5th .

Jefferson Magnet School 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about jefferson school and its staff. My step daughter is now in fourth grade and she has been there from kindergarden. My son is in kindergarden for the second year. he has a learning difference and concentration issues. The taechers, principal, vice principal, nurse and therapists have been more than helpful in my sons development. Many innercity schools let their students fall through the cracks but jefferson is absolutley not one of them. The teachers take pride in what they do and are very influential to the kids. My son and step daughter love going to school everyday and they are always telling me how they can't wait to see their teachers each week. And as for my sons learning disability, the staff is doing a wonderful job directing his interests into sschool work, making it fun. He has come around 110 percent. He couldn't read at all at the end of last year. Now, instead of me reading books to him at night, he wants to read to me. Jefferson science magnet scool should be the choice of every parent who decides to move to norwalk, or lives in norwalk.


Jefferson Magnet School 5

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
My son just graduated from Jefferson Science Magnet. Although he only attended for 2 years; I pulled him from another Norwalk Public elementary school where we were miserable. Jefferson has been the best experience for him. The teachers are amazing, the computer lab, double dose, partnering with the Maritime aquarium and GE. Everything and everyone worked to give Jefferson kids the best education and elementary school experience possible. I recommend everyone, especially if your child is interested in natural sciences to attend.

Jefferson Magnet School 4

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent

Nearby schools

Jefferson Magnet School
75 Van Buren Ave, Norwalk, CT  06850
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (203) 899-2870
Last modified Jefferson Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top