Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Norwalk, CT
Students enrolled: 609
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ponus Ridge Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
This school has done amazing things in the past few years. The principle keeps the kids in line and watches like a hawk. If she see's trouble she fixes it immediately. My son is now in his final year and he has excelled to high honors the past 2 quarters. The Staff from the lunch lady who, according to my son, "puts to many vegetable's on my plate" to the awesome Spanish teacher who answers even my emails in Spanish with English translation below. I would recommend this school staff and principle to all my friends and family. If you get involved instead of sitting at home writing BS reviews you would know this first hand.
2 people found this helpful

Ponus Ridge Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Ponus Ridge is an amazing place. I am so impressed by the academic and moral support found on Mrs. Sumpter's staff. I wish I could name all the staff who have meant so much to my son's academic development, but I'm afraid I would forget to mention someone who was instrumental in his growth. If any staff from Ponus is reading this, please accept my sincere, heartfelt gratitude for all you do for the children at Ponus.
2 people found this helpful


Ponus Ridge Middle School 1

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
The principal runs it like it's her own private kingdom and has made WONDERFUL teachers and support staff so miserable that they quit.

Ponus Ridge Middle School 1

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
is not a good school horrible no discipline lot of bulling principal and assistant principal dont really do nothing and the only thing they seem to do is suspension but not at good clean and safe envirment at all i move jest to make sure my son dont go to this school any more is my personal experience and opinion.

Ponus Ridge Middle School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. I feel more parents should get involved in guiding principle on what works and what will not. This year school participated in Robotics competition and I was suprised to see kids and teachers excitement during this event. All parent needs to make sure that in order to improve their kids future they need to make every effort to help teachers at Ponus.
1 person found this helpful


Ponus Ridge Middle School 3

Posted May 08, 2013
- a community member
there was the one time when i just kept getting bullied everyday and just for all different reasons . no one wanted me to have friends.. other than that the 8th graders seemed so happy and nice
1 person found this helpful

Ponus Ridge Middle School 1

Posted October 31, 2011
- a parent
Horrible horrible horrible. The principal runs it like it's her own private kingdom and has made WONDERFUL teachers so miserable that they quit. The ONLY discipline they seem to use is suspension - there is no effort made to assist kids having problems. I filed a complaint with the CT Board of Education, who sided with me. My son's guidance counselor was practically comatose and since they move with the class, he had three years of her. I feel bad for the good teachers who endure this environment. The happiest day of my life was my son's graduation day in 2011.

Ponus Ridge Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 10, 2009
- a parent
After the first year, my overall opinion that the school is good but not great. The 6th grade orange team teachers were excellent and gave my child the challenges she needs to excel. However, the principal is clueless and seemed to lack control of the students from the first orientation we attended. My opinion has not changed from that first meeting. Drugs and alcohol have been known to be present on the grounds with little disciplinary action from the principal.


Ponus Ridge Middle School 1

Posted May 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ponus Ridge Middle School 5

Posted March 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ponus Ridge Middle School
21 Hunters Ln, Norwalk, CT  06850
(203) 847-3557
Last modified Ponus Ridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ponus Ridge Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top