Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norwich Free Academy

Public | 9-12 | 2381 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

NFA is one of the best schools in connecticut and it deserves a lot more than a 5/10 rating. They give you so many options for AP courses and they have a large variety of courses for people with different interests. They have art, computer, 8+ languages, photography, design etc. My son found it really hard to decide which courses to take but the counselors were so helpful and organized. He graduated with great test scores and an admission to his first choice of college and as a parent I couldn't be happier with the safety, friendliness, and academic excellence of this school. This school provides so many opportunities but it is up to the students to make use of them. That is probably why the test scores reported are so low, which makes the rating low. Trust me and all the other 17 that rated this school, it is one of the best you will find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Our daughter is a freshman at NFA and we love the school! She came to the school from a small town, but has been welcomed and is transitioning well. The art department is exceptional and the faculty is enthusiastic and exemplifies all that teachers should be! If you have school choice, please consider NFA! You will not be sorry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

NFA is a wonderful school with opportunities for all students. It's strong sports, arts, and academic program teamed with it's thriving campus and supportive staff makes it an amazing place to go to school everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

NFA does a wonderful job educating not only students from Norwich, but also several surrounding towns. It offers a broad selection of classes, and maintains a quality education for any student that wants it.


Posted October 3, 2009

One of the best schools in the country. My fourth child is there now. So many excellent teachers who really care about their students. Because of its lay-out NFA is like a college campus and the kids get a taste of what college is like. The security is very good and discipline is enforced and consistent. The students do very well when they graduate. NFA is also a blue ribbon school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

This palce is amazing! It has a campus full of flowering trees. The students are bused in from all over the region. there is a c eclectic group of students from every walk of life. The arts include, an art school at a college level, the theatre, the music, liberal arts, languages and sports all year long. it even boasts its own museum, The Slater Museum. A classic beauty this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

NFA is a remarkable school offering an amazing array of subjects and life experiences to the students. I have found that they are responsive to the needs of the children, families and communities that they serve - embracing the diversity and addressing the needs. As a parent, I am very pleased with the growth and learning that I have witnessed in my son during his time at NFA, and encourage others to take advantage of the opportunities they make available to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Since NFA isn't funded by taxes, they have been able to provide classes, activities, and programs far beyond what is available at most area schools. In addition to having their own museum on the campus, the school's marching band has won a national championship within the past decade. Since the emphasis at NFA is on preparation for college, a higher-than-average percentage of the graduates go on to further education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

NFA gives you the chance to take college prep courses and explore different clubs. no matter what you're interests are
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2008

I am going to be a Junior this up coming year at NFA and it is, needless to say, one of the BEST schools I have ever been to. There are many opportunities to try out a different subject and tamper around with things which could ultimately help you decide a major for college. And, like another person stated, the food is amazing! Double underline that. People are kind and generally open to meeting others and if you find you don't like certain people wait a couple weeks and your bound to find someone you do. I could honestly ramble about how much I love going to this school, but that would take up too much room. Seriously, look at most of the reviewers, they're all students and they all love this place. Needless to say, there will NEVER be a dull moment in this place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

This is my sophmore year at Norwich Free Academy, previously I was at Fitch Senior High in Groton. And what a huge difference! The teachers are the most influencial people you will ever meet and my god talk about variety! You can truly shine as who you are with all of the clubs and extra-curricular activities, you will never be faced with being the outcast. The food (pizza) is unutterably ambrosial and come on... how many other high school students outside of NFA can say that? Also cliques at this prestigeous place do not really exist and if they do it's very low key. I don't want to ever leave!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

im a student at nfa right now and its the best school ive ever been too. its not like most high schools. its set up like a college campus with different buildings and a wide range of classes to choose from. the sports teams are amazing. im looking forward to joining one in the coming months and your given alot more freedom here. you still have to follow the school's rules but you can do so much. its really a great school. their art classes are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2004

Truly amazing, I'm a army brat so i've been to 3 different high schools before this across the country and none of them compare to this. it is an honor to actually get to go here for free. and if you live in preston or lisbon do not take your child to ledyard or griswold high because you think the city of norwich has a drug problem, yes they really do, but NFA has serious crackdowns on anyone who tries to get any in! it's like a $100 bill in the middle of a dump.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2004

I just graduated with the Class of 2004 from NFA. I can't believe I won't be returning next year. I am going to miss the unbelievable teachers and the class selection was great. NFA is such a good school that we are known all over New England, not just in Connecticut. NFA has made me so prepared for college, and I have met a lot of great people in the faculty and students. WE truly were the 'Salad Bowl' of Norwich.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2004

I'm not a parent, but a student. I think NFA is an awesome school and deserves the awards it gets. They have great teachers who help you, tons of elective classes, and an overall friendly atmosphere. What more can ya ask for?! You make new friends with all types of races and religions. Teachers respect their students and gain their respect in return. I hope everyone in the area goes to NFA because it's the best high school out there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2003

I'm a current student at NFA! I just wanted to say how good NFA is! It has tradition and innovation!! Its safety and dicipline is top level while still a good school environment! The Teachers help you plan and achieve your goals in life! The have over 50 clubs to choose from including Bowling, Book, and Environmental club! It has also been awarded a blue ribbon school, so if that doesn't tell you how good the school is, I don't know what will!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

551 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

555 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

578 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

575 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female40%
Male44%
Black14%
Asian American64%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial19%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English43%

Reading

All Students38%
Female45%
Male28%
Black21%
Asian American42%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial22%
White44%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities40%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English39%

Science

All Students42%
Female42%
Male41%
Black23%
Asian American58%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial21%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English43%

Writing

All Students52%
Female62%
Male40%
Black36%
Asian American58%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial32%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English54%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 62%
Hispanic 13% 19%
Black 10% 13%
Asian 6% 4%
Two or more races 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

305 Broadway
Norwich, CT 06360
Phone: (860) 887-2505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT