Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kelly Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 624 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

Kelly really is not as bad as people make this school out to be. Most of the negative reviews are from parents and students who just gave up and wouldn't put the necessary effort into their own educations. Great administration, great facility, but poor parenting. You can't fault the school for that.


Posted June 23, 2014

This last comment is not fair. You get out what you put in. That's true for every school and life itself. There are very caring, hard-working teachers and staff at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

Best school ever! Very clean and has lot's of nice smart kids. Great activities after school.


Posted August 20, 2013

DESPITE negative reviews, and normal school flaws, this school is good. The teachers DO care. They DO care about these students. There are some kids with no respect, who bully, and swear, like other schools. This school is good. Mr. Peckrul is a good principal too.


Posted August 15, 2013

This school is horrible I went there for 6th and 7th grade. 6th grade was ok but when I got to 7th grade i wanted to get outta there quickly I was bullied all of 7th grade. My father was so irritated we finally had to move.


Posted August 14, 2013

This place is an absolute zoo. Special education is sketchy at best. Teachers are unprepared for PET's. Right hand NEVER knows what the left hand is doing. Teachers are demoralized and just don't care. If I had the $$ I'd move OR send the kids to private school. Run as fast as you can to another school district!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

This is the absolute worst school I've ever been involved with as a parent. I am raising my grandchildren and my oldest was always a grade A student- happy and bright and loved school. By the middle of 6th grade she began to give up. The administration is harsh, abusive and not very good at checking out their facts before they level accusations. the work she is doing this year for 8th grade is on a par with my 5th grader's work. The vice-principal has repeatedly abused my child and I keep getting told there's nothing I can do about it. They say they have no time to go through 74 camera's worth of video-so what are they there for? I don't have the money to move from this area and I dread that I have to send my 5th grader there next year. The best middle school in town has a 900 student waiting list and I can't afford the Catholic schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

This is a terrible school. My sister and I had always had straight A's; we were always the top of the class. That is until we went to Kelly. My sister had a noticable drop in her grades in her first year at Kelly, and she wasn't even there for the whole time ( we moved her from another school because we moved ). By the time she went to high school she had recieved several F's and she was never at the top of the class again. When I went to Kelly in the first trimester I recieved my first C. Then my first D's. The kids at this school are out of control and nobody bothers with them. More then half of them don't wear there uniforms and they are never punished which is ridiculus because everybody else spent at least $200 to get them. The teachers do not teach well and they don't help the students who clearly need it. The computers are so old that half of the time they don't work and they take 15 minutes to get started. The algebra books are broken beyond repair, most of them completely coverless, they have been around so long that they still refer to Russia as the USSR. Kelly Middle School has turned so many good children into uncontrollable delinquents.


Posted January 29, 2010

I love this school. Although test scores are not exactly presentable, i still thought that we will succeed soon because we show effort and we work together as one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

Best middle school that I could pick for my kids. Great teachers.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

This school is a wonderful place to learn.Both sets of teachers for the 6 grade present a challenge and help students to figure out what they don't understand.The special areas such as gym, world language,art, etc. do a wonderful job.L.A. teachers issue a spelling test as well as a daily oral language test weekly.In Computer Integration, the students explore the computer while at the same time working on developing skills in their 5 major subjects.In my opinion, this school is doing exactly what is should be doin, preparing for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2005

There is no after school activity for 6th graders. Homework is minimal and rarely is a hard back book brought home. Science grade is strictly what is done in class. Foreign language class is about 6 weeks with little to no homework available. Social Studies homework is a sheet of paper containing 10 questions for the week. Math is the only daily homework. No tests, except spelling, is issued on a weekly basis. The CT school system is setting up kids to fail or be in the medium. 80% of my kid's learning is what I issue him on the side. School is becoming a place where I can send my kid Monday-Friday, while I go to work. Something needs to be done to push our kids forward. Kids needs to be challenged. This school doesn't do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female63%
Male69%
Black45%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%

Reading

All Students67%
Female67%
Male68%
Black45%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial55%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%

Writing

All Students56%
Female67%
Male48%
Black37%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracial62%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female70%
Male57%
Black47%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male71%
Black59%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Writing

All Students72%
Female86%
Male58%
Black59%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Black56%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Reading

All Students71%
Female70%
Male72%
Black59%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students60%
Female58%
Male61%
Black37%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English66%

Writing

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
Black69%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 61%
Hispanic 26% 20%
Black 19% 13%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Mahan Dr
Norwich, CT 06360
Phone: (860) 823-4211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Joseph School
Norwich, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT