Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Samuel Huntington School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Times have changed and Kindergarten is new first grade . Kids do more homework but they are also learning more. The school offers web based homework activities that the kids enjoy.

Samuel Huntington School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Huntington has a ROCKS program that they take very seriously. emphasis is on Respect , opportunity, cooperation, kindness and safety.


Samuel Huntington School 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
My daughter loves this school and so do I. I am very pleased with the curriculum. Huntington offers a nice balance of learning, fun and field trips. The after school program is very good as well. Also, We love the new web based learning offered here. Huntington offers a great education to students that will put them at an advantage over smaller schools in less funded districts. I am finally reaping the benefits of my high tax bill in my child's quality education.

Samuel Huntington School 3

Posted February 16, 2014
- a community member
We are looking forward to our child starting midterm in the first grade at Huntington School. Will post further as the term progresses.

Samuel Huntington School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
Our son has had very good teachers in each of the three years that he has attended the school. I feel very strongly that this is the BEST elementary school in Norwich, and feel very satisfied with the education my child receives at Huntington. There is a very active PTO that raises money for outside programs and organizes several evening events each year. The students at Huntington have never been disrespectful or unruly in any of my visits to the school. The teachers have been very communicative. I have not come in contact with any bullying problems or heard of any significant disciplinary problems. Any discipline problems of the past have been resolved. This school has improved a great deal since Dr. Nardone has taken over as principal. Dr. Nardone is an enthusiastic leader that stresses personal responsibility and parental involvement. Dr. Nardone has brought a breath of fresh air to the entire school culture. Dr. Nardone attended Samuel Huntington School as a child, so she cares deeply about it's success. She has certainly earned the right to retire, but has chosen to be the leader of Huntington. Her love for the shool and it's students shows.


Samuel Huntington School
no rating

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
fairly good school but lacks alot of funding to help children acheive higher goals.no moniters everything left up to teachers and principle,very apperent that there time is not wisly spent.

Samuel Huntington School 2

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
I agree with the previous poster, my children are constantly barraged with shoving, kicking, and unacceptable horse-play because they are not properly supervised and no one really seems to care. I know its a student to teacher ratio issue, so fix it. There are some standout teachers in that school, and they need more of them. Norwich needs another Elementary school... a new one.

Samuel Huntington School 2

Posted May 27, 2007
- a parent
Leadership and safety issues declined in the last two school years. The main problem seems to be the directly related to the lack of caring or ability of the current principal. Physical violence issues were virtually non-existent before her arrival. A lack of leadership and supervision during outdoor recess is evident. The problem has been magnified by the closing of Buckingham school and the quality of some of the students now attending. Only a short two years ago Huntington school was arguably the best school in the district.

Nearby schools

Samuel Huntington School
80 West Town Street, Norwich, CT  06360
(860) 823-4204
Last modified Samuel Huntington School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top